S/V Hello Texas

12 March 2016 | Grenada
12 March 2016 | Carriacou
12 March 2016 | Carriacou
29 February 2016 | Union Island
29 February 2016 | Union Island
29 February 2016 | Union Island
17 February 2016 | Tobago Cays, Grenadines
15 February 2016 | Bequia
15 February 2016 | Bequia
15 February 2016 | Bequia
10 February 2016 | St Lucia
09 February 2016 | St Lucia
09 February 2016 | St Lucia
09 February 2016 | St Lucia
08 February 2016 | St Lucia
08 February 2016 | St Lucia
08 February 2016 | Martinique
08 February 2016 | Martinique
08 February 2016 | Martinique
08 February 2016 | Martinique

Underground shopping

22 October 2006 | WPB
Nicki
Richard has been introduced to underground shopping. I learned from our friend Jim some time ago about CBI. Cheney Brother's, they are a restaurant supplier and for some reason I have yet to figure out, they sell some of the same supplies to the public from their warehouse. So we go and it is Richard's first time there, it isnt a pretty place, but it's fun to see what they have decided to sell that day. On our trip we scored two big boxes of indiv pkg chips, a box of indiv wrap fig newtons, 16 little cans of grapefruit juice, 30 indiv pkg of olive oil/balsamic vinaigrette, lb of butter, huge hunk of peppercorn crusted pastrami, hunk of turkey breast, gal of cherries, and 2 lbs frozen green beans, all this for 29 bucks. Jim has a meat slicer so he sliced our meat and it was all repkg into smaller packs and we split the jar of cherries w/ him. I wish we had a bigger freezer, but I'm glad we have one at all. I discovered that the skinny space btwn the freezer and the fride wall will freeze or nearly freeze, so I slip what I can into that space too.

The cushions I made back in Texas this summer fit the space perfectly. We have a U-shaped sette in which the dining table will drop down to make a double birth. The boat did not come to us with those cushions to fill in the table area. So I made some and they turned out great. Now on those days that we are stuck inside due to bad weather we can set it up as a daybed so to speak and have a great movie watching, popcorn eating, napping space.

One of my favorite things about this lifestyle is the people we meet. For instance, Marc and Debby, who were here for dinner last. Great people!! They are a couple from Belgium and yes I embarrassed myself once by asking what country Belgium is in...it is a country, you dumb country bumpkin. (I played hooky that day from school) Anyway, they have tons of boating experience, which we try to absorb. Not mention they always have good wine, which we also absorb.

I think I'm going to remove my toaster oven out of it's cabinet. I dont think we will be able to use it often enuf when we cut the cord to justify it taking the space. It can be stored next to the a/c unit that will also not be used. I can put the cabinet doors back on and viola a whole new cabinet, what on earth can I put in there?....all those chips maybe.

Oh Ginny is back in her place. A few days ago when it was hot and windless we ran the genoa back up the furler track.

We have nine more days here at the docks, then we cut the cord (electrical cord). We are ready and the boat is almost ready, just a few more things. It's always just a few more things.

Love and miss you Robyn.
Comments
Vessel Name: Hello Texas
Vessel Make/Model: Kadey-Krogen 38' Cutter
Hailing Port: Fort Worth, Texas
Crew: Richard & Nicki
About: Just us.

Who: Richard & Nicki
Port: Fort Worth, Texas