S/V Hello Texas

12 March 2016 | Grenada
12 March 2016 | Carriacou
12 March 2016 | Carriacou
29 February 2016 | Union Island
29 February 2016 | Union Island
29 February 2016 | Union Island
17 February 2016 | Tobago Cays, Grenadines
15 February 2016 | Bequia
15 February 2016 | Bequia
15 February 2016 | Bequia
10 February 2016 | St Lucia
09 February 2016 | St Lucia
09 February 2016 | St Lucia
09 February 2016 | St Lucia
08 February 2016 | St Lucia
08 February 2016 | St Lucia
08 February 2016 | Martinique
08 February 2016 | Martinique
08 February 2016 | Martinique
08 February 2016 | Martinique

Cruising Crafts

24 January 2013 | Georgetown
Nicki
My Grandmother used to say "idle hands are the devils workshop". She had me doing various crafts as a child "to keep me out of trouble". I am not a die hard crafter with boxes of craft supplies taking over the house, but I do like to take on a project now and then. Doing some sort of craft on the boat while cruising is very common, especially among the female cruisers. Each year I have taken on something new. Basket weaving is big among the ladies. Our first year of cruising I tried it. I managed to complete one small basket with a lid. I gave it to my daughter and told her to feel lucky because it was going to be the only one! Our second year, I enjoyed making shell jewelry with the many shells I collected while beach combing. Then it was the sea bean jewelry (my favorite), practically everyone I know got a polished sea bean necklace. Last season was the year of the conch! I learned to clean, cook, and then make conch horns from the beautiful shells. I love my conch horn, just call me Gabrielle. This year I've pick up knotting. I had Sharon from S/V Imagine help me get started with a Turks Head bracelet. Then from her knot books I taught myself the Ocean Plat. It took me several hours and several attempts, but I finally got a small trivet mat and a placemat completed. I need a lot more practice to perfect it in a larger size; say for a rug. I need to get it tighter. I've also figured out the French Hitch that is used to cover the steering wheel, which will be finished with Turks Head knots.

In between reading books, playing volleyball, playing Texas hold'em, and hiking the island trails I'm tying knots.

I guess this season you could say I'm a knotty girl!
Comments
Vessel Name: Hello Texas
Vessel Make/Model: Kadey-Krogen 38' Cutter
Hailing Port: Fort Worth, Texas
Crew: Richard & Nicki
About: Just us.

Who: Richard & Nicki
Port: Fort Worth, Texas