M/V Hesperus

14 May 2016
14 March 2016 | Hampton
20 December 2015 | Hampton
18 November 2015
27 July 2015
01 February 2015
01 February 2015 | Hampton, Va
04 June 2013 | Hampton, Va
25 December 2011 | Hampton
01 May 2011
20 January 2011
24 December 2010
11 December 2010 | Hampton, VA
09 December 2010 | Hampton, VA
04 May 2010 | Hampton, VA
23 April 2010 | Hampton, VA
23 April 2010 | Hampton, VA
15 March 2010

Auto Pilot Complete

15 March 2010
Steve
It has been a very long project, but Sunday I declared the project complete. I installed a Simrad AP24 autopilot with a Jefa DD-15 drive motor below decks. It was quite the project as I had to build a mount for the motor. Did I mention I am not a carpenter? Well, after the fourth version I came up with a satisfactory mount and got it all installed and communicating. This system utilizes network communications and integrates with the autopilot. Now, I was not even going to integrate the two, since I was never that interested in making routes and having the AP follow along. I always thought that was a making for a grounding at the most inopportune time.

Well, as I read all the things this AP can do, one of them is adjusting settings based on the speed of the boat, so at slower speeds the helm will move more to maintain the heading, while when you are up to speed, the helm moves less thus reducing over steering.

My friend Mike and I went to sea for a sea trial. After calibrating the flux gate compass and auto-tuning the system, I put it through its paces. Performing tacks put us right on a new course without wavering or hunting around until settled. It just made the turn and put us on a new course like we were on rails. I am quite impressed and happy.

Of course motoring and sailing are two completely different animals. Right now I can only hope it will track as nicely under sail.

So, my big winter project is over. Now it is on to spring commissioning work. Will haul out for bottom painting, waxing and zinc replacements. :P
Comments
Vessel Name: Hesperus
Vessel Make/Model: Monk 36
Hailing Port: Hampton, VA
Crew: Steve