Next Verse

09 January 2013 | Port Canaveral, FL
13 November 2012 | Key West, FL
26 October 2012 | Key West, FL
16 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
13 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
10 October 2012 | Key Largo, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
05 October 2012 | Cocoa Beach, FL
04 October 2012 | New Smyrna Beach, FL
03 October 2012 | St Augustine
01 October 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
30 August 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
25 August 2012 | Isle of Hope, GA
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC

Maiden Voyage

10 April 2010 | Charleston, SC
Mike
Well, for six months, Norma has been tied up in the the slip and has not moved once. Since I'm planning to take her out for a "shakedown" sail in a few days with my Friends Captain Buddy and Annie, I have begun preparing her for leaving the slip.

There's often a significant tidal current that runs through the marina, depending on the state of the tide. Today, I decided to trurn Norma around and back her into her spot so that her bow will be pointed toward the entrance to the basin. This will require less manuvering when we head out.

I prepared all of the lines and fenders, disconnected the shore power and cable TV hookups and started the engine. I waited until the current had all but stopped but there was still 15 to 20 knots of wind. Two slips down from me, the crew of a racing sailboat was enjoying some post-race drinks while they tidied up their boat. This is a 45 foot racing boat with a crew of about 7.

I decided to approach them to see if I could get some help with my lines as I attempted to back Norma into her spot. Now, for those non-sailors out there, I'm going to let you in on a little secret. For cruisers like me, the short list of people you don't want to screw up in front of goes something like this:

A.) Racers

2.) Racers (and)

C.) Racers

As I mentioned before, Norma has not moved for six months and, more importantly, I have not helmed her for six months. Furthermore, manuvering under power, in reverse, in a confined space and in strong winds can be a little tricky.

Anyway, the guys were very helpful and the remaining members of the crew were all watching...... No pressure. Fortunately everything went well. I was able to back out motor to the turning basin and spin her around and back her into her old spot on the first try. *whew* It almost looked like I knew what I was doing. Good thing they can't read minds.

It could have been my imagination but it seemed like some of the crew members who were watching us looked a little disappointed. Anyway, not exactly an epic voyage but I'll take my llittle successes where I can get them.
Comments
Vessel Name: Norma Fay
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 386
Hailing Port: Racine, Wisconsin
Crew: Mike Miller
About: I recently retired from the trop-rock band the "Boat Drunks" and I'm going sailing. Heading through the Eastern Great Lakes, down the ICW and to the Bahamas for starters. Then...We'll see!

Norma Fay

Who: Mike Miller
Port: Racine, Wisconsin