Next Verse

09 January 2013 | Port Canaveral, FL
13 November 2012 | Key West, FL
26 October 2012 | Key West, FL
16 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
13 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
10 October 2012 | Key Largo, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
05 October 2012 | Cocoa Beach, FL
04 October 2012 | New Smyrna Beach, FL
03 October 2012 | St Augustine
01 October 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
30 August 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
25 August 2012 | Isle of Hope, GA
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC

Duck Season! (Wabbit Season)

20 November 2010 | Beaufort,SC
Mike
Well, I had a very peaceful night at anchor. Until daybreak marked the beginning of the opening day of duck season. One minute I'm sleeping in total silence, the next minute it sounds like Saturday night in Dodge City.
Oh well.... I had planned to get up early anyway.

I got the anchor up (trying very hard NOT to look like a duck) and got under way. It was another beautiful sunny day. I hardly saw another boat until I arrived in Beaufort.

After topping off fuel, I showered and went to have lunch and walk around the town. I have passed through here twice before and I really like this town. Its exactly what you would envision a picturesque southern town to look like. I guess thats why they have shot so many films here... The Big Chill, Forrest Gump, The Great Santini, Prince of Tides, to name a few.

I went back to the old church cemetary that I have visited previously and, again, saw all of the US and Confederate flags on the veterans' graves. While looking at the resting places of veterans of the Revolutionary and Civil Wars, a British flag caught my eye. It was the grave of two British soldiers who died during the Revolutionary War in 1779.

How about that, not only did we give two enemy soldiers a decent burial, we continue to mark their graves on Veterans Day. Don't knock this country to me! Here's a picture of the tombstone.
Comments
Vessel Name: Norma Fay
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 386
Hailing Port: Racine, Wisconsin
Crew: Mike Miller
About: I recently retired from the trop-rock band the "Boat Drunks" and I'm going sailing. Heading through the Eastern Great Lakes, down the ICW and to the Bahamas for starters. Then...We'll see!

Norma Fay

Who: Mike Miller
Port: Racine, Wisconsin