Next Verse

09 January 2013 | Port Canaveral, FL
13 November 2012 | Key West, FL
26 October 2012 | Key West, FL
16 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
13 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
10 October 2012 | Key Largo, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
05 October 2012 | Cocoa Beach, FL
04 October 2012 | New Smyrna Beach, FL
03 October 2012 | St Augustine
01 October 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
30 August 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
25 August 2012 | Isle of Hope, GA
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC

Our Buddy Doyle

25 May 2008 | Herrin, Illinois
Mike
Well, for those of you who don't recognize the man with me in this picture, Its Coral Reefer, Doyle Grisham. He's Jimmy Buffett's pedal steel player. We were fortunate enough to meet Doyle (and Jimmy) when we (the Boat Drunks) opened for Jimmy at Alpine Valley in the summer of 2004.

In the years that followed, Doyle was kind enough to perform with us at about a dozen shows and even played with us on our second CD. In addition to being one of the top steel men in Nashville and a hell of a lead guitar player to boot, Doyle is an avid fisherman and a great guy.

This last weekend we played another show with Doyle in Herrin, Illinois. As always, he knocked 'em dead. His lovely wife Debbie came along to help sell merchandise and it was a pleasure seeing them both one last time.

I realize that this posting is only peripherally cruising related but, hey this is my blog and I have something to get off my chest. Over the last several years, I have occasionally found myself at gatherings of boaters where someone will chime in with their "I hear this Jimmy Buffett guy that everyone loves so much is a jerk" story. I can only tell you this much, take it for what its worth.

During the time that I spent with him at Alpine Valley and after having performed numerous times with six different members of his band, I disagree. In person, he was polite, humble and friendly. I can also tell you that you do not keep the quality of musicians and people around you for as long as Jimmy Buffett has by being a "jerk." I don't doubt that he has his moments as we all do but after having spent a small amount of time peeking behind the curtain, these "jerk" stories are either made up, embellished or the rank exception. So, don't buy it!

There.....now where should I store this soap box?
Comments
Vessel Name: Norma Fay
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 386
Hailing Port: Racine, Wisconsin
Crew: Mike Miller
About: I recently retired from the trop-rock band the "Boat Drunks" and I'm going sailing. Heading through the Eastern Great Lakes, down the ICW and to the Bahamas for starters. Then...We'll see!

Norma Fay

Who: Mike Miller
Port: Racine, Wisconsin