Next Verse

09 January 2013 | Port Canaveral, FL
13 November 2012 | Key West, FL
26 October 2012 | Key West, FL
16 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
13 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
10 October 2012 | Key Largo, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
05 October 2012 | Cocoa Beach, FL
04 October 2012 | New Smyrna Beach, FL
03 October 2012 | St Augustine
01 October 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
30 August 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
25 August 2012 | Isle of Hope, GA
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC

Hanging Gardens?

12 August 2008 | Port Sanilac, MI
Mike
As my alleged mind with its limited education recalls, I believe the Hanging Gardens of Babylon were one of the original seven wonders of the world... If I'm wrong, just let me keep believing that because it (sort of) ties my last two ports of call together.

After the huge low pressue system finally moved east from Ontario and left Lake Huron in relative peace, Big Brother Dave and I headed out to cross Saginaw Bay. With the slop left over from the previous days' storms, Saginaw Bay lived up to its reputation for being a bit on the bouncy side.

Things did settle down as the day progressed and we arrived safely (if a little jostled) in Port Austin. As we were leaving the harbor, I noticed that we were only doing 4 knots even though my engine was turning at 2800 RPM's. To give a little perspective, I should have been doing about 6.5 to 7.

In assessing the situation, I noted the engine was running steady and the transmission didn't appear to be slipping, consequently I wondered if we were dragging something..... All lines and fenders accounted for? Check!.... Dave still on board? Check! Jimmy Hoffa?? Nahhh......

We got into the open and I stopped the boat and reversed her...... and viola... about 3 big clouds of "seaweed" surfaced. Suddenly the boat was handling properly again.

Then we motor-sailed to Port Sanilac without incident until we entered our "trainsient slip." We came to a dead stop halfway in, even though my depth sounder said 8.9 feet. Sure enough.....more "seaweed"... As we backed out, I could tell by the way the boat was handling the we were carrying another "hanging garden." Despite this, I was able to get into a less occluded slip.

Afterward, on a hunch, I cleaned two small "dinner salads" out of the raw water strainers for my engine and air conditioning intakes. Note to self....transient slips that don't get used a lot tend to get bottom growth in them...... BEWARE.

Anyway, the people in both harbors were great and the harbors we also very nice.....(if a little on the weedy side)

Rather than include pictures of the aforementioned offending flora....I'll throw in another rainbow picture. Judging by the emails, that was a popular submission.
Comments
Vessel Name: Norma Fay
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 386
Hailing Port: Racine, Wisconsin
Crew: Mike Miller
About: I recently retired from the trop-rock band the "Boat Drunks" and I'm going sailing. Heading through the Eastern Great Lakes, down the ICW and to the Bahamas for starters. Then...We'll see!

Norma Fay

Who: Mike Miller
Port: Racine, Wisconsin