Next Verse

09 January 2013 | Port Canaveral, FL
13 November 2012 | Key West, FL
26 October 2012 | Key West, FL
16 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
13 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
10 October 2012 | Key Largo, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
05 October 2012 | Cocoa Beach, FL
04 October 2012 | New Smyrna Beach, FL
03 October 2012 | St Augustine
01 October 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
30 August 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
25 August 2012 | Isle of Hope, GA
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC

Brushes With Greatness

24 August 2008 | Dunkirk,NY
Mike
Hey folks! When we last spoke I told you that I was going to stay in Erie for two days and I told you that I would take some pictures. Well.....I sort of lied on both counts.

I got up early on Saturday and got my oil changed before 10:00 AM. I had been following the weather and learned that some storms were predicted for Sunday and Sunday night and, since Saturday was perfect, I decided to beat feet!

As I was informing the folks at the marina that I was not going to be staying a second night, the guy at the counter asked me if I knew who I was moored behind. (tied up directly in front of me was a multi-million dollar 79 foot house boat.) I told him that I had spoken to him in passing but I didn't get his name. He said that's Red Green! His real name is Steve Smith but he hosts the Red Green Show! I actually had seen the show a couple of times thanks to a friend from work, Andy Charles, to told me about it.

Anyway, it's quite a floating palace named Bacardi Breeze. I guess he's in the process of moving it from Kentucky to Williamsport, Ontario or something like that.

Well....like I said, I skeedadled (a sailing term!) and made it all the way to Dunkirk, New York. As I was about 10 miles from Dunkirk, I sailed right through a fishing tournament. I gingerly weaved my way through about 50 bass boats full of fishermen, just to have them pass me like bats out of he-- about 45 minutes later.

I arrived at the marina without incident. After cleaning up, I walked to the restaurant at a local hotel and found a bunch of the professional fisherman in the bar. They were still wearing their sponsership shirts that make them all look like stock car drivers or something. (I've always found that amusing..but what do I know?)

Anyhoo....I ordered a sandwich at the bar and several of them said "Hey don't do that..look here." Turns out Ranger Boats buys these guys like 20 pizza's at the end of each day. They said that I could help myself....so I did!

It was kind of fun listening to these guys talk while they ate pizza and typed on their Blackberries. I guess this professional fishing is some serious business. Who knew?

Anyway, waiting out some storms now and hoping to be in Buffalo Monday or Tuesday. I'll get pictures there.....maybe.
Comments
Vessel Name: Norma Fay
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 386
Hailing Port: Racine, Wisconsin
Crew: Mike Miller
About: I recently retired from the trop-rock band the "Boat Drunks" and I'm going sailing. Heading through the Eastern Great Lakes, down the ICW and to the Bahamas for starters. Then...We'll see!

Norma Fay

Who: Mike Miller
Port: Racine, Wisconsin