Next Verse

09 January 2013 | Port Canaveral, FL
13 November 2012 | Key West, FL
26 October 2012 | Key West, FL
16 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
13 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
12 October 2012 | Boot Key Harbor, Marathon, FL
10 October 2012 | Key Largo, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
09 October 2012 | Ft Lauderdale, FL
05 October 2012 | Cocoa Beach, FL
04 October 2012 | New Smyrna Beach, FL
03 October 2012 | St Augustine
01 October 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
30 August 2012 | Jacksonville, FL
25 August 2012 | Isle of Hope, GA
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC
21 August 2012 | Charleston, SC

Oldest City in America

29 November 2008 | St. Augustine, Florida
Mike
Well, I left Jacksonville on Friday morning and headed south to St. Augustine, the oldest city in the US. It was first settled in the 1500's by the Spanish. It's a really pretty town and the Spanish influence is evident.

I arrived in town at 11:35 AM, just five minutes too late for the 11:30 bridge opening. I was also informed by the bridge tender that the next opening would not be until 12:30. The idea of treading water for nearly an hour in the strong tidal current did not appeal to me so I decided to drop the hook at the anchorage in front of the fort.

I didn't really notice the crowd of people gathered on the fortress wall overlooking the anchorage or I might have been prepared for what happened next. Just as I was releasing the anchor, KABOOM!! They fired off the cannon overlooking the water. I didn't let it bother me too much. I just climbed back into the boat and finished setting the anchor. ;o)

I no more than got the anchor set when I heard another boater speaking to the bridge tender and asking her if, perhaps there should be a noon opening today since it's more or less a holiday. After a brief discussion, she announced that the bridge would indeed open at noon. **sigh**

I then raised the anchor and prepared for the opening. I got through without incident and was able to get into my slip at the municipal marina with no damage in the very strong current. A little excitement but no damage..... (Note to self: "Leave at slack tide!")

I met up with another cruiser here whose blog I have been following for a while. He is a friend of a friend and we have communicated in the past. His name is Marc and you can check him out at www.skippermarc.com. Anyway, his Mother Pat is here visiting him before he leaves for the Bahamas. I spent the afternoon and evening hanging out with them.

Today, I got up and did the tourist thing, including checking out the fort. I thought about having a word with them about firing on friendly vessels in the anchorage but decided to let it drop. Anyway, here's a picture taken from the fort.
Comments
Vessel Name: Norma Fay
Vessel Make/Model: Hunter 386
Hailing Port: Racine, Wisconsin
Crew: Mike Miller
About: I recently retired from the trop-rock band the "Boat Drunks" and I'm going sailing. Heading through the Eastern Great Lakes, down the ICW and to the Bahamas for starters. Then...We'll see!

Norma Fay

Who: Mike Miller
Port: Racine, Wisconsin