Hukilau Sails the Sound

Another winter

18 October 2010
Yesterday (Sunday, Oct. 17) was a beautful fall day. I had hoped to have time for one last sail before cashing in this year, but it was blowing 15-18 knots at the dock when I got to the marina about 3. Just too windy. Scott met me, and we proceeded to take the sails off, remove the battery, porta pottie and other goodies, and generally get the boat ready for the winter. One mistake I made: while lowering the genny, I forgot to attach a leader to the end of the internal halyard. I didn't realize it until the line was twenty feet in the air with no way of getting it back down. Oh well, I'll just have to attach the line after they pull the mast for the winter. Not a big deal, but this means that I have to pull the mast instead of buying a boom cover (something I was thinking about, which requires leaving the mast/boom up over the winter).

I'll still need to go back and get the cushions off the boat, put in new moisture control strips, etc. but Hukilau is otherwise ready for shrinkwrapping. A sad day, especially since I got such an abbreviated sailing season this year.
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.