Hukilau Sails the Sound

Fall it is

11 October 2011
I was finally able to get back out to the boat for a sail on Sunday (10/9). We have had only one weekend where it hasn't rained since last month, and Patti and Lily and I went to Newport then. Me to the boat show, the ladies, shopping. A good time was had by all. I picked up some new shades at the show, polarized, but with non-polarized bifocals. Really nice. I also won an anchor at a stainless manufacturer's booth. Too small for Hukilau, but still nice to have.

On Sunday, we had a summer-like day: mid 80's, sunny and breezy. The forecast called for winds of 5 mph or less. However, it was blowing around 12 knots I would guess. I raised sail in the harbor, and sailed almost due south into the Sound. I had to dial some of the genny in, and I had a very comfortable, extremely enjoyable sail. I went on for about 45 minutes or so, past the Reef, until I just turned around and came back. So nice. I had a sport-a-seat out and was just relaxing, moving at around 5 knots the whole time.

Docking was uneventful, and I spent some time cleaning up. In the time since I last went sailing, the birds had been hanging out on Hukilau, and she needed to be hosed down. In fact, it looked like birds the size of dinosaurs had been resting on the dock. I gave that a good hosing too. I hope that wasn't the last sail of the year.
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.