Hukilau Sails the Sound

Upgrades

28 June 2012
Last Wednesday, I went to the boat after work; it was blowing pretty good, and I wasn't sure if I was going to brave the seas. After all, I had finally put together my furling line upgrade, and it was ready to install. I decided to bite the bullet and install the thing. All I needed was some stainless hardware. So after measuring the size of the new bolts I would need, I went to the Branford hardware store (why bother to drive out to West Marine?). I spent $3.71 on some screws, went back to the boat, and did the final assembly. I mounted it on the stanchion, and voila! So cool.

I decided I just had to go out and give it a test run, so out I went for about an hour's sail. I came back in with the racing fleet. I couldn't be happier with the results.

I am still getting the "inaccurate results" message from the GPS for tide data. I called Garmin, and they said the 72 is too old to get the new data, and they won't be updating the software because they have discontinued the model. Upgrade time?
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.