Hukilau Sails the Sound

The End

30 October 2013
I went out to the boat on Saturday (Oct. 26) to break down for the year. Patti had offered to come with me, but I said that I was fine so long as the wind was light. Well, I've never seen the wind so strong. There were whitecaps on the river, and the wind was whistling through the rigging. I'm guessing the wind was blowing 25 continuously, and gusting higher. It was all I could do to get the sails down without them going overboard. There was no way I could get them folded. I just shoved them in the bags as best I could. Patti and I folded them the next day in our driveway. So easy! And so neat! I think I may do that every year now.

A bonus was that I found that the marina has carts! Who knew? I was able to take all of the cushions, battery, portipotti, etc. in only two trips. Its like a new world.

I saw that Scott's boat had already been pulled and was on the hard, way in the back of the far lot. The mast is on the railings. It looks like he and Mark will be using a tarp. Chick tells me that they will be shrink-wrapping. Thank goodness.

I'm going to go back on Saturday. Hopefully the boat has been pulled and I can get the engine off. Once I put the lines, fenders and masthead fittings below, we'll be ready for shrink-wrap and the winter.
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.