Hukilau Sails the Sound

Hawaii, hurricanes, earthquakes and empty nesting

20 August 2014
We got back from Hawaii on Aug. 12, pretty jet-lagged. We found out just before leaving LA for Kona that two hurricanes, Iselle and Julio, were bearing down on the Big Island. We learned that no hurricane has hit the state for 22 years, and none have ever hit the Big Island throughout recorded history. Anyway, it became clear as the week went on that Iselle was not only refusing to be downgraded to a Tropical Storm, she was going to hit the island square on Wednesday. The entire island seemed to close down by about 2 pm on Wednesday. Oh, and there was an earthquake that morning. It sounded like a big bang, and then the building shook as if someone had slammed a big door. Patti didn't wake up, but it did get Dan out of bed. We had bought some candles and flashlights, and fortunately had already bought some food to cook in one night. We made it that night and had a great steak dinner, then played poker, using M&Ms as chips. We went to bed somewhat early, but it was still only windy out (maybe about 30mph, but no rain). When we woke up, there were some leaves and flowers on the ground, and the streets were wet, but that's it. No damage, no loss of power. Sweet!

On Thursday the 14th, I decided to get out on the boat for a quick, after-work sail. Winds seemed gusty on the drive over, but didn't seem as strong at the dock. I decided to unfurl just the genny. I sailed out towards the Reef, and once clear of land, I never sailed at less than 4 knots, and often exceeded 5. I got almost to the Reef, but it was getting late and decided to head back. On the way back, the winds - especially close to shore - really picked up to about 20 knots. Since it was blowing from exactly the direction I needed to go, I furled the sail and motored back.

I wanted to sail on Friday or Saturday too, but it's getting down to the wire with the kids going to school, and I didn't want to take the time away from them (although I think Dan would have gone). I'm getting really nervous about this whole thing. I can't believe Lily is going.
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.