Hukilau Sails the Sound

Bachelor weekend and minivans

27 September 2014
I can't believe it's been three weeks since my last sail. Patti and I went to the boat once a couple of weeks ago, but she decided she didn't want to go out, so we relaxed at the dock.

This weekend, Patti is in DC visiting Lily. Lily loves DC and is adjusting to life in college. Some bumps, but better than I think we had a right to expect.

This week was Rosh Hashonah, and I've been travelling like crazy for work, so it really is the first time I've had a clear shot to sail. The weather this weekend is amazing: sunny and almost 80. After David took me to pick up Patti's new minivan in Bristol, I had lunch, then went to the boat. I thought I might take Rocco with me, but he doesn't have a pfd anymore (outgrew the one we bought for him that he never wore), so he stayed home.

It looked very breezy based on the flags, but once on the water, it wasn't so strong. I shook the reef out of the main, and unfurled the genny completely. I motored into the Sound this time before raising the sails. I headed east towards Rocco's Breath Island. I set a course to pass south. As I approached, I noticed on the chartplotter that the island had a shallow area (dark blue on the chart) surrounding it that I would pass through. No big deal, thinks I. As soon as my icon touches it, the shallow water alarm on the depth sounder goes off, and I hear the centerboard scraping against something. The depth gauge reads "1.5". I immediately head south and within a few seconds, the depths are back to normal. My first almost grounding! I guess those charts are pretty accurate.

I hit 4.5 knots on the way out there, and on my southwest course, I approach 4 knots a couple of times, but mostly I'm sailing between 3 and 3.5 knots. Out past the Cow and Calf, then back to the harbor. No issues docking. I put the boat to rights, then sack out in the cockpit with SI.

I'm hoping for at least two more outings. The Levines want a sailing lesson, and I'd love to at least partially pay them back for the fabulous weekend in Nantucket this past week. I lent David the Basic Keelboat book that I bought for Patti in Newport this summer. I don't think she cracked the spine. Maybe David and Diane will have more luck.

I have to decide if I'm going to stay at Goodsell or go to Bruce and Johnson. Ack.
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.