Hukilau Sails the Sound

Graduation, Iceland and now we're ready to sail

13 June 2016
So Dan is graduated! He moved into Brooklyn a few days later, then came home for a couple of days before we all went to Iceland for 10 days. I had called the marina before we left and asked them to launch Hukilau; I shouldn't have been, but I was surprised that it was going to take almost a week before they could launch me. I was hoping to get in before we left, but I guess it made no difference in the end because I wouldn't have had time to do anything on the boat anyway. As far as I can tell, they launched Hukilau on June 2.

We came back from Iceland on Friday June 10, and Patti and I went to the boat on Saturday.

Saturday (June 11) was supposed to be sunny, but it rained in the morning when Patti and I went to Westbrook to pick up my Genny. But by the time we got to Branford, it had stopped and the sun was coming out. Patti and I bent on the sails, installed the gas tank and battery, and generally got Hukilau ready for sea.

I went back to the boat on Sunday. It was sunny and warm, but very windy. Blowing a consistent 20, with gusts over 30. I scrubbed the grime and black mold off the decks and cabin sole, and charged the potty. I'd say we are ready to sail....
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.