Hukilau Sails the Sound

Should have seen it coming

30 May 2017
Patti and I went to the boat on Saturday to put the sails on, clean up, and generally make the boat ready to go. I secretly hoped that we would get a chance to sneak out for a first sail of the season.

No such luck.

The sails went on (although the genny was a pain), the battery went in (and doesn't the chartplotter work great on its new swing arm!), but the engine.... She wouldn't start. I did get her to run for about five seconds (twice), but it seemed as if she were just burning up the fuel in the carb. I tried with choke, which half-choke, with no choke. I tried pulling the plugs and wiping them down. I tried pumping the bulb, and not pumping. I felt terrible.

The next day (Sunday of Memorial Day weekend), I went to West Marine and picked up a new fuel line. I installed it, and yes! The engine started. It was a little strange as it didn't respond to the throttle quickly, but it ran, and it ran strong. Until about five minutes later when I noticed that the engine wasn't peeing anymore; just a dribble. Then, there was white smoke from under the cowling, and a stall.

That's it. I went to the office and asked the yard to take a look. Sigh. Looks like another late start to the season.
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.