Hukilau Sails the Sound

Late entry for last sail?

24 October 2017
Patti and I did manage to go out on Sunday, Oct 1. The weather cooperated nicely, with it being sunny, clear and with winds at about 10-12 mph.

Patti was a bit nervous, so we put a reef in at the dock. I had to re-run the reefing line as the marina had untied it to put the battens back in, but I did that at the dock before setting the reef.

We went out (new engine purring), and were soon sailing southwest with a reef in the main and about a working jib slice of the genny out.

Patti wanted to serve lunch and asked if we were going to stay on this tack for awhile. I said yes. Not two minutes later, I saw water breaking about 50 yards ahead of us, and a rock sticking out of the water where I had never seen one before. I mentioned this to Patti, who was clearly annoyed that we would have to tack after I had just said we wouldn't have to.

This lead to a bit of a tiff, with me being upset that she didn't know how to tack the boat, and her pointing out that I don't communicate well. The tension passed with us both saying we'd do better, and so we enjoyed a beautiful sail for the rest of the afternoon.

Eventually, we headed back in and picked up a mooring (I think it was the same one we used with David and Diane the week before) and hung out for an hour or so before heading back to the dock.

Since then, the short days have meant no after work sails, and we've been busy or the weather hasn't cooperated on the weekends. I think we're done for the year. Sad!

Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.