Hukilau Sails the Sound

Almost Ready

07 May 2018
After the crew helped wash and wax the boat, I went back the next weekend to install the coaming boxes and paint the bottom.

The coaming box installation was a no-go: my decision to use a cutting wheel on my new angle grinder was clearly a bad choice. I didn't get the boxes in until this past Saturday (May 5). The details here:

http://www.sailnet.com/forums/general-discussion-sailing-related/318954-i-cut-holes-my-boat.html

Because my first try to install the boxes failed, I had some extra time, so instead of just touching up the bottom paint, I did a full re-coat on April 28. My other goal that day was to be to install the engine. That was not to be.

The day before, I took the engine out of the shed and started her up, just to make sure all was well. She started quickly and easily; but I noticed that the cooling water was not peeing out as strongly as it should be. What's more, the stream was slowing as the engine ran. Arrrgh! Even a new engine doesn't buy labor peace.

I called Affordable Marine that Monday, hoping to bring the engine in after work. They said no, we're too busy. Come back in a week. Grrrrrr.

So I brought it in this morning on my way to work. I got a call from them two hours later: the engine is ready to be picked up! All is well; the water line was clogged. They cleaned it out and it runs good. I'm picking it up today. I will have to pay for an hour's labor, but that's cheap insurance in my book. My plan is to put the engine on the boat on Wednesday, then tell the yard to launch asap!

Almost there!
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.