Hukilau Sails the Sound

New Tiller, no wind, but lots of people

02 September 2018
Dan and Serena came up this weekend with some friends and stayed with Mom and Dad in Branford. The crew all wanted to go sailing, and I very much wanted a break from getting Lily ready to move on Monday, so off we went.

The weather was originally predicted to be cloudy and muggy, with a good chance of showers. The only thing that turned out as predicted was the muggy. It felt like a mid-summer day, with a lot of sun and a lot of humid. Dan, Serena, Anna, Danny, Ren, Jeff and Ben all came on the boat; I think having eight of us on at once was a new record. I didn't know how we were going to handle it once the sails were up, but off we went. There was a definite breeze in the flags on my way to Branford, but it seemed very still at the docks. And while we motored out, the water was flat; I was hoping to see some changes by the time we hit the Sound, but no go: almost nothing. We never even got the sails raised. Off to the harbor to swim. Jeff picked up a mooring with ease, and within a few minutes, everyone but me went in the water; I didn't even think about bringing a suit.

When we left to go back to the dock, Ren threw off the mooring line, but the whip/float must have gotten caught somewhere because it ripped away from the mooring line and floated free. We quickly turned around and picked up the whip again. Ren grabbed the mooring line with a boat hook, and we reattached the whip to the mooring line. I did the best I could, but I feel badly that I broke someone's mooring. Ugh.

Back to the dock where the crew helped put the boat to rights. The kids were off to buy some beer and stuff for dinner, while I headed back to Mom and Dad's to see Patti and Lily. The big move is tomorrow!

Note: I installed the new tiller before we left the dock. Looks very sharp.

Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.