Hukilau Sails the Sound

Practice still needed

20 June 2019
Mike Stern
Patti and I had lesson #2 with Joy on Monday, June 17. I was feeling sort of confident because of the way things ended last time. But it was not to be. We tried to back out of the slip, turning the stern to starboard so we could go out of the marina head first. Well, things went sideways. Literally. We wound up with the starboard side of the boat scraping against the anchors and bowsprits of the boats opposite us. Got a nice, long scratch in the gel coat if the starboard side, including on the blue sheer stripe.

Joy was great, telling me to calm down, and keeping things from getting way worse. We wound up trying again, and this time, it wasn't as bad, but we still wound up against those boats. We back out of the fairway, then took a ride down the river. Patti steered some too, and did well shifting in and out of neutral.

Docking the boat went surprising well every time. And, as last time, most of the times we came in to dock, someone came by to help us. Patti waived them off, but still, when it rains, it pours.

The last two times we left the dock, we just backed out completely, and I did ok both times. But still. Come on man! I need some solid wins to boost my confidence. I've already come to terms (mostly) with the fact that I'm not going to solo sail much this summer. But I don't want to feel tension before I leave the dock every time.

After we docked (very well, I might add), Joy and I went over the engine, looking around and poking over it. It was very helpful for me to have her point out what she knows.

Need to schedule our next lesson with Joy.
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.