Hukilau Sails the Sound

Great Sail, 2nd Worst Docking - Last time this season

06 October 2019
Mike Stern
With our upcoming trip to France, I've decided to have the yard haul the boat the week of Oct 14. Which means that this weekend was really my last chance for a sail.

Patti went to NYC to see the kids, so it was just me. I invited Scott and George; sort of symmetrical, right? First and last sail of 2019. Scott couldn't make it, but George could. George's plan was to sleep on the boat after our day, but his wife "convinced" him to stay at Blackacre instead. Given how cool it was last night, that was a good thing.

Before George arrived (he was about an hour late), I took the time to take down the Bimini as I knew it needed some repair. I wound up ripping it some more, so now it really needs fixing.

Our undocking was easy. George pushed us off, and we back out to the right like champs. We raised sail in the harbor, and had to tack about 4 times before we could get out past the islands. We then headed a little east of south. The weather was a perfect fall day: sunny, light winds, low 60's or upper 50's. Winds were light, but they occasionally filled in to about 10 knots, giving us a nice ride.

The sail was great; the winds could have been a little stronger or consistent, but we never slipped below 3 knots for very long, and occasionally hit 6 or more. George was very impressed with how well Hukilau handled light air. And it was a revelation to sail with someone who know what to do when I say "I think we should haul the traveler to windward".

On and on we went; after about three hours (and a turkey club grinder and chips), we decided we should get back so we would have daylight to take down the sails. During the sail south, I watched the GPS, and was surprised to see that I had sailed that far already this season, at least twice. But soon, I could see the tracks of the two earlier trips and ended with a course reversal; very soon, our current track passed the two earlier trips. Furthest sail this year! The sail back seemed to take a lot less time, but we soon made the harbor where we struck the sails and headed back in.

I had a list of things I had to do on this last sail, among them: fill the fuel tank, empty the waste tank, empty the water tank, measure the battens, etc. As we were leaving the marina to go out, I mentioned the fuel dock to George, but said we'll get it when we come back. So on the way back, I wanted to stop, but the dock was closed. I then remembered I think the dock closes at 3 after Labor Day. Ugh. Oh well, I can use my tote to fill it up later.

But I did want to empty the waste tank. Earlier, I had scoped out the location of the marina's pump out facility, and I headed there. According to my Garmin, we were travelling over a field, but since we were right by the biggest boats (dock AA) at the marina, I knew we'd be ok. I found the pump out dock, and with little drama, made it there. Just as we were tying up, the Pump Out Boat pulled up next to us. I had assumed they weren't working anymore, but obviously I was wrong. The pump out boat guy quickly offered to take care of it for us, and I was happy to have him do it. I didn't think there'd be much in there, but there was more than I thought. Including something brown. That must be old....

We were soon on our way to the dock, where I was confident to the point I wasn't really thinking much about any potential problems. But George didn't position himself on the outside of the shrouds at the widest part of the boat; he stayed near the cockpit, so he couldn't jump off. That's when things went south. I had to back out and I didn't do that well. We had to fend off Roger's Catalina 30, then when I pushed us back in, the bow hit the post holding the hose. That knocked my anchor off the pulpit, send it and most of my chain into the water. I now couldn't back out much to try again as i was afraid the anchor would snag. We did get close enough for George and I to get off on the next try, and tied up. Strangely, I didn't feel too bad about it as there was no damage and no one to see (at least, I think).

At that point, I ran the sinks until the water tank went dry, and did the rest of the stuff on my list. Of course, George was an enormous help getting the sails off. We stuffed them into the bags, then folded them in the parking lot. We were then off to Home for dinner, then back to Blackacre.

I happily call this season a rousing success. Patti took lessons, I learned to handle this boat, and we went out a good number of times. I still really want to overnight on Hukilau; that's what she's made for, and that's what is going to happen. At some point. And I still want to solo. Gonna happen.

I am so glad I bought this boat. It gives me great pleasure.

I would still like to make another trip to the boat before she is wrapped up. I want to get the manuals off, and do a couple of other very minor things.

What a season!
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.