Hukilau Sails the Sound

Putting it all together

10 May 2020
Mike Stern
The virus rolls on....
Amtrak has us working from home through May at this point, with extensions likely after that.

In the meantime, back on Hukilau:
I bought an engine soundproofing kit from Defender a couple of months ago, and I decided it was time to install it. I tried to remove the engine cover from the boat and take it home, but it wouldn't fit through the door in the shrink wrap, so Lily and I brought cardboard and tools to the boat to make templates for the soundproofing material. It took us about two hours, but we did a good job. However, we didn't have room in the cabin to cut the material out, so I took the templates home and made the cuts on the garage floor. I installed the material last weekend, and it looks good. The kit didn't come with enough metal tape, but Marshall was there and he had some aluminum tape that he gave me so I could finish the job.

I also treated and painted the rusting oil pan, as well as some other spots on the engine, and removed the shrink wrap. And my compass came back from Viking, looking like a brand new unit. Can't wait to install it. Yesterday, I went to the boat to try and start waxing; I wasn't sure how this was going to come out as it was cold and very, very windy. This was not a day I would have picked to do work on the boat, but Sunday was Mother's Day, so that was not an option. I got about twenty minutes of polishing in before it started to snow (no kidding), and I gave up.

We've cancelled the trip to LA and Hawaii, but we're trying to find a beach house in CT where the five of us can self-quarantine for a few days instead. Meanwhile, I'm going to find a nice day and take a day off from work and just go to the boat and slave away. I'd like to launch before June if I can.
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.