Hukilau Sails the Sound

Getting Ready to Splash

29 April 2021
Mike Stern
Lots going on. I was getting ready to take the cover and frame off the boat on Saturday April 10. I was psyched. But I somehow managed to break my left pinky toe on Tuesday, making it impossible to climb a ladder.

But I healed enough to ditch the walking boot the next week, so I took the cover and frame off and washed the boat on April 17. And Lily came up to help on my birthday, so she and I spent most of the morning and early afternoon waxing.

I went to the boat after work on April 28 to try and finish waxing. Krystian, a guy I had met on line who had just bought his own C28 Mk1, was able to meet me at the boat. We have agreed to help each other; he really wants help setting up the sails, and I'm glad to help. Krystian helped knock off the rest of the polishing/waxing, then helped me replace the topping lift line. I had bought a new line (80 feet of 1/4 inch line), along with some whipping twine with a needle. We sewed the ends of the new line to the old, then pulled the new line through the mast and down with the old. Worked like a charm.

Only a little left to do: paint the prop and shaft; fix the knock on the keel, maybe touch up some bottom paint. I really want to get it all done by next week, so it's ready to go before we go to Florida on the 13th. I asked to be launched the week of May 24, but I'm hopeful to get in before then.

Looking good so far.
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.