Hukilau Sails the Sound

Late Launching

02 June 2008
Here it is June 2, and I am still not in the water. This is not because I am not trying though. I managed to get the bottom done on May 23, with the hope that I might even get in by Memorial Day (that Monday). This was the first time I had sanded the bottom; even though I only had to sand in spots, it was still a messy proposition. Anyway, I went to the boat on Friday May 23rd after work, and put in about two hours, and Hukilau was ready to go in.

I called the marina on Saturday, leaving a message that she was ready. On Tuesday after Memorial Day, I got a call from Ginny at the marina, saying that I had not sent them a contract or a deposit! I seem to specifically remember doing so, but I couldn't find any cancelled check to say otherwise. Anyway, Ginny said that was ok, they would put me in, but that they would now need payment for the whole year ($1802). I said sure, and she told me I would be in that day or Wednesday.

On Wednesday, Scott and I go out to put the sails on, but when we get there, Hukilau is still on the hard. We see Ginny, who is as friendly as can be, and she says sorry, but I should be in by the next day. So on Friday I go out to put the sails on, but find that I am still not launched.

Today (Monday, June 2), I left a message for Ginny and Bob to please call me when the boat is in the water. I wonder if they are waiting for me to pay them before they splash me? They have never done so before, but maybe they are treating me differently because I didn't send in a deposit. If I have to wait, it will be another week and a half before I get paid again and I can afford to cough up $1800 in one big chunk. I may ask Mom or Dad to cruise over there and see if I am in yet.

Let's hope I can get the boat in soon; this is the latest I think I have ever been splashed. Even though it has been a cold and wet spring, these past few days are starting to feel like summer.
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.