Hukilau Sails the Sound

Mom and Dad

13 July 2008
Went to the beach on LI yesterday with Jennifer, Patti and Lily, and had a great time. We stopped off at Louis' house, and I saw his new boat. A 26 foot Sea Ray. Wow. AC, a galley, a real head, almost new. Can't wait for a ride.

Today, the weather was almost as beautiful as yesterday, so I went sailing with Mom and Dad. Wind was blowing around 15 knots. The seas were not bad, waves about 2 feet, but there were white caps out on the sound and in the harbor past the Mermaids. I put a reef in at the dock, but we never even unfurled the main. We sailed with just the Genny, and we hit over 5 knots. Dad really didn't want to go out of the harbor with the rough conditions out there, and with his knee in bad shape, I don't blame him. We sailed back and forth in the harbor for an hour or so, then went behind the Mermaids, anchored and had lunch.

The weather was spectacular. Puffy clouds, bright sunshine, and breezy. A great afternoon. Upon returning to the dock, Dad helped me dock. It was windy, and it was tough to get the boat into the slip. Bad knee and all he jumped off the boat and helped us in. It actually went very smoothly.

After Mom and Dad left, I was rinsing off the boat when one of my dockmates came in. I helped Nick and Pam dock, and then chatted with them for awhile. Nice folks.

Jim's boat came in too. They had just raced in the Pine Orchard Yacht Club race, and had also raced on Saturday in the Branford Yacht Club race. Carlo told me they didn't do too well, but it was fun. The crew seemed in good spirits.

Home to apply some Roundup, and Dan comes home tonight from his cruise.

I really must remember to hoist the genny a little higher before my next sail, and also try and run the sheets away from the stanchions.
Comments
Vessel Name: Hukilau
Vessel Make/Model: Catalina 28
Hailing Port: Branford, Conn.