S/V DAKOTA

DAKOTA

Who: Dave, Karen ...and Charlie.
Port: Maple Bay BC Canada
28 August 2012 | Desolation Sound
20 August 2012 | Pender Harbour
19 August 2012 | Maple Bay Marina
17 August 2012 | Maple Bay, BC
27 May 2012 | Portland Island, BC
19 May 2012 | Maple Bay, BC
16 April 2012 | Maple Bay, BC
13 April 2012 | Maple Bay, BC
05 April 2012 | Maple Bay, BC
29 March 2012 | Maple Bay, BC
25 February 2012 | Maple Bay, BC
16 February 2012 | Maple Bay
24 January 2012 | Maple Bay Marina
22 December 2011 | Maple Bay Marina
04 December 2011 | Maple Bay Marina
25 October 2011 | Maple Bay Marina
25 October 2011 | Maple Bay Marina
19 August 2011 | Maple Bay
15 August 2011 | Montague harbour
12 August 2011 | Paisley Island

It works...it works!

19 August 2011 | Maple Bay
Dakota Crew
Well we are home but it wasn't without some drama...our usual type of sailing. Last blog had us stranded in Montague Harbour with a non-working cooling pump. Now I have no idea how any of this works but my suggestion was it might be on backwards....Dave's answer to that was..."There is no way it could be backwards"...so my next suggestion is get out the westerbeke folder I had so carefully put together a few months ago..."It's in the backseat of the truck"....well ain't that grand!
I decided since we were on a pretty civilized island that had a ferry going and coming, the weather was great, we had enough food to last another week and I was not due to go back to work until sunday, that I would just sit back and help when I can and relax when I can't.
So after a few more hours of a complete check from the thruhaul to the water pump....yup....water coming all the way thru! We even turned the engine over and the impeller was going the right way....then Dave noticed the pump was trying to push the water backwards....huuummmmmmm....backwards!
Sure enough! The pump was on backwards....now I'd like to take full credit for that one, but really it was just a suggestion and I had no idea it could even go on backwards.
We stayed another night in the harbour and went to the little pub with Charlie and had a well deserved lunch.
The trip back was uneventful....Thank Goodness....and we even got all our sails up for a grand sail for a few hours.
Well...another Dave and Karen Adventure is done and we docked perfectly (my nemesis 'the dock') and now I'm onto laundry and trying to revive my garden.
Happy sailing everyone!
(the picture is the brilliant sunset we say while 'stuck' in Montague Harbour.)
Comments
Vessel Name: DAKOTA
Vessel Make/Model: 1982 40 foot Bayfield- Cutter Rigged Ketch
Hailing Port: Maple Bay BC Canada
Crew: Dave, Karen ...and Charlie.
About:
We started dreaming of sailing around the world about 3 years ago while taking our 25 foot Bayfield around Desolation Sound in BC. We bought our 40 foot Bayfield recently and will take the next 10 years to clean and refurbish the boat for our future around the world sail. [...]
Extra: "Come on Darling, Come with me. I'll take you sailing on the deep blue sea Set our sails under a perfect sky Drift on down where the Tropics lie, I Love Sailing." Eileen Quinn
Social:

DAKOTA

Who: Dave, Karen ...and Charlie.
Port: Maple Bay BC Canada