The Jackson Four on Tour

Operation 'sell Pegasus of Jersey' begins""

22 July 2013 | Moffat, Scotland
29 March 2013 | Penang
27 March 2013 | Mooloolaba and Penang
22 February 2013 | Mooloolaba
05 February 2013 | Mooloolaba
30 January 2013 | Mooloolaba
11 January 2013 | Brisbane River
27 December 2012
26 December 2012 | Brisbane/Godl Coast
16 December 2012 | Brisbane, Australia
06 December 2012
04 December 2012
01 December 2012
01 December 2012 | Townsville
27 November 2012
26 November 2012
23 November 2012 | Cairns, Australia
15 November 2012 | Vlasoff Reef

Meeting Samba

08 March 2011 | St Annes, Martinique
Catherine
A very pleasant sail from Guadeloupe down to Martinique, passing Isles des Saintes and Dominica without stopping as we wanted to put some miles in and hopefully meet up with the Burch family on Samba who we met in Lanzarote. The Grib files predicted constant Easterly winds of 14-16 knots. We are learning the nuances of Caribbean winds and despite having to motor some of the way, it really was a lovely sail, sunny, no swell, kids happy, clear night. Mark and I had forgotten how hard it was to do nights - I think a one off is harder than a three weeks passage, where you can get into a routine. I had to stand up to take watch so if I nodded off, my legs buckled under me and woke me up!! Perhaps my biggest sailing faux pas so far took form in the shape of the biggest riding turn in history. For landlubbers, the rope got knotted all around the winch big stylee. I was trying to get the genoa out without waking up Mark, but this only resulted in him waking up for his watch with having to rapidly sort out my cock up. I really wish I had a photo to demonstrate, but I was too busy eating humble pie to remember the camera. Arrived in Martinique to the back drop of a gorgeous sunrise only to be met by really miserable diesel operators who seemed irritated by my bad French, and all my insecurities about 'giving it a go' came flooding back. We tried to anchor in Fort de France but it was really busy and I wussed out, choosing a quieter anchorage round the corner in Schoelcher, where we got the opportunity to practise putting both anchors out til we get our new anchor. We had fun negotiating their annual dinghy regatta of 200 plus optimists, windsurfers and hobies to get inshore. Little update 24 hours on..... we are drinking ti punch with Mel and Pete from Samba - so lovely to meet up with fellow sailors. Current location: St Annes, Martinique.
Comments
Vessel Name: Pegasus of Jersey
Vessel Make/Model: Nautitech 395 Catamaran
Hailing Port: Lefkas, Greece
Crew: Mark, Catherine, Mia and Lachlan
About:
Having met whilst sailing on Bob's boat, there always was a vague plan that we would at some stage sell the house, buy a boat and sail round the world. Unfortunately, we didn't have a house. That was 9 years ago. [...]

Jackson Four on Tour

Who: Mark, Catherine, Mia and Lachlan
Port: Lefkas, Greece