The Jackson Four on Tour

Operation 'sell Pegasus of Jersey' begins""

22 July 2013 | Moffat, Scotland
29 March 2013 | Penang
27 March 2013 | Mooloolaba and Penang
22 February 2013 | Mooloolaba
05 February 2013 | Mooloolaba
30 January 2013 | Mooloolaba
11 January 2013 | Brisbane River
27 December 2012
26 December 2012 | Brisbane/Godl Coast
16 December 2012 | Brisbane, Australia
06 December 2012
04 December 2012
01 December 2012
01 December 2012 | Townsville
27 November 2012
26 November 2012
23 November 2012 | Cairns, Australia
15 November 2012 | Vlasoff Reef

The dreaded no-no fly

21 August 2011
Catherine
21 August 2011
curr pos: 11.51S, 141.38W
I knew I had been bitten at the waterfall by mozzies, but they don't usually affect me as much as they do Mark and Mia. They say it's because I'm cold-blooded (in the nicest possible way.) But these bites itch more than anything I've ever had, so I think I may have been bitten by the dreaded no-no fly, which is prevelant in the Marquesas. Enough apparently to keep away the tourists. Tahiti and Hawaii have spent millions of dollars to eridicate the fly from their beaches successfully .But it won't leave the Marquesas. We are all suffering from the bites, though Mark sprayed himself and the kids sooner than I sprayed myself, hence the 35 bites on my legs alone. I guess with 3 days at sea we'll be feeling better soon. Although we haven't officially started school again yet, sea is the perfect time to crack open the science books to read ("this isn't school though mummy is it?") We could even do all the experiments that involved balloons, after acquiring them for Lochy's birthday, such as the making carbon dioxide gas with vinegar and bicarb to inflate a balloon (success) and making a balloon propelled lego car (failure.) We learned about the Portuguese man-o war, how it's not the same as a jellyfish, because it is a group of organisms that can't live without each other, whereas a jellyfish is an animal in it's own right. So now you know too. And although they cause excruciating pain, you're unlikely to die unless you have pre-existing heart or lung problems. So, that's reassuring. Really we should be reading up on sharks as there are a lot in the Tuamotus but apparently harmless. Also, manta rays, although up to 2 metres wide (or was it 5? I'll have to ask Lochy) are plankton eaters. So, am I ready to take the plunge once we arrive, with all this knowledge at hand? Well, I 've realised that I'm a bit of a wuss when it comes to large things in the sea, but as I don't want to pass on this fear to the kids, I'll probably snorkel with them when we get there. Or at least man the dinghy whilst Mark snorkels with them!!
Comments
Vessel Name: Pegasus of Jersey
Vessel Make/Model: Nautitech 395 Catamaran
Hailing Port: Lefkas, Greece
Crew: Mark, Catherine, Mia and Lachlan
About:
Having met whilst sailing on Bob's boat, there always was a vague plan that we would at some stage sell the house, buy a boat and sail round the world. Unfortunately, we didn't have a house. That was 9 years ago. [...]

Jackson Four on Tour

Who: Mark, Catherine, Mia and Lachlan
Port: Lefkas, Greece