The Adventure Begins

Used to sail as a teenager with my father, now in my 40's I have just bought my first boat, this blog will be about the adventure of turning this neglected boat back into the head turner of my dreams, and of learning to sail after 20 plus years away

16 December 2012
16 December 2012
24 November 2012 | Annapolis, MD

Moving north on the bay.

16 December 2012
cold and rain in the evening
Well the boat was put in the water for the first time in several years a few days before. The mechanic that rebuilt the engine while the boat was on the hard came aboard on the 14th to check out the work in anticipation of my using the engine to move the boat from its location on the Magothy river to a more convenient location to home on the Sassafras river. I hoped to get an early start on motoring up the bay, but as usual between trips to West Marine and other things the trip didn't get underway till between 3:30-4:00 PM. The trip out to the bay was uneventful, but dusk was starting to fall as I got out to the Bay. I turned north and stated passing Baltimore as darkness started to fall. Sometime around 6 PM the rain that had been predicted for the day started to fall. As I reached Pools Island the darkness was so complete that if it wasn't for the buoys marking the channel I wouldn't have been able to continue, but continue I did. By following the light channel buoys I finally arrived at the mouth of the Sassafras river somewhere near 10 PM. Turning into the river I found that the buoys here were not lighted. I spent about half an hour attempting to go up river before giving up for the night exhausted and soaked. I dropped anchor near the south shore and hoped to get some sleep for the night. More to come....
Comments
Vessel Name: Bluebonnet (Will be changing by spring)
Vessel Make/Model: C&C 36