18 April 2011 | Alexandria, VA
11 May 2010
31 July 2009
26 April 2009
24 January 2009 | Cadle Creek
27 December 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
09 November 2008
13 October 2008
30 September 2008
13 July 2008 | Warehouse Creek
30 May 2008 | St. Mary's River
26 May 2008 | Rhode River & Chesapeake Bay
24 May 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
04 May 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
29 April 2008

Sailed across the Chesapeake Bay

02 April 2006 | St. Michaels to Edgewater
I finally sailed across the bay. Many thanks to Dave for all the help yesterday! It was a beautiful day out on the Chesapeake, 60-70F, sunny and clear blue skies. The only thing missing was some more wind. My brothers Chris and Brian playing with the camera:
PICT0874

Here we are departing my old port:
IMG_0215

We unfurled the genoa several times, but we rarely got over 3 knots under wind alone. It was just so calm out. We motored probably about 70% of the trip. For a time when we had the wind coming directly from the stern, we put my spinnaker pole to use and used it to hold out the headsail as we went wing on wing.
DSCN1554

I tried to get a different view of my boat and the water in this shot:
DSCN1559

Here's a photo from laying down on the bow and looking at the beautiful sky and sails. That's my new Cruising Direct (North Sails) 135% genoa.
DSCN1566

Here is our course plotted on a chart from using Dave's GPS. I think it was around 27-30 nautical miles, I forgot the exact number.
4-2-2006

Since my younger brother Chris who was being our shuttle decided to drive all the way to Ocean City, MD, we beat him to the other side of the bay. Since we had some time to kill, we sailed down the West River to explore and then headed to my new marina off Cadle Creek. It was a total of 6.5 hours of motoring/sailing. Before we left, I filled up my fuel tanks (6 gal and 3.5 gal) and I was surprised that I used probably only about 2 gallons. The Honda 4 stroke 15hp outboard worked great during the trip. It doesn't take much throttle to get up to 5 knots, pretty much just turned to the "start" setting of the throttle. I still need to look into the wiring because the electric starter didn't work, but I think it wasn't connected to the good battery. I plan to look into it this weekend.

Here is a photo of one of the lights on the bay near Bloody Point. That sure is a lot of bird crap on that structure!
DSCN1573

Brian on the cabin top and Dave at the helm.
DSCN1563

Brian at the helm for the first time!
DSCN1556

Of course, I need to have a photo of myself at the helm!
DSCN1547

I can't wait until this coming weekend to go out on my boat again.
Comments
Vessel Name: Sapphire Breeze
Vessel Make/Model: 1982 Catalina 25 SK/SR
Hailing Port: Mayo, MD
Crew: Justin
Extra: This site is all about my experiences with my first boat; from restoring it, to my sailing adventures. I enjoy hearing from my readers, so feel free to send me an email. I'm also interested in meeting new people in the area, especially people in my age range since I hardly know any that sail.

Who: Justin
Port: Mayo, MD