18 April 2011 | Alexandria, VA
11 May 2010
31 July 2009
26 April 2009
24 January 2009 | Cadle Creek
27 December 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
09 November 2008
13 October 2008
30 September 2008
13 July 2008 | Warehouse Creek
30 May 2008 | St. Mary's River
26 May 2008 | Rhode River & Chesapeake Bay
24 May 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
04 May 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
29 April 2008

Taking a break in GA.

05 April 2007 | Thunderbolt, GA
I woke up at 7am to the cold front that came in overnight. The winds really picked up compared to yesterday as well. We weighed anchor at 9:40am and began our way up the Wilmington River. We arrived at Thunderbolt Marina at 10:40am. Here is Doug's Island Time:
P1000746

I like how much usable rear deck space there is with the center cockpit layout. There is more space to spread out and get away.
P1000745

I walked around the marina and took several pictures of all the nice boats here:
P1000743

A very large motor sailor:
P1000744

I like this classic cruiser. I was told it is a Hans Christian:
P1000748
P1000755
P1000757

Some mega yacht:
P1000752

A very large modern looking sport cruiser and very nice sailboat on dry dock:
P1000753

A close up of that very large cutter rig sailboat:
P1000754

We walked downtown to the local breakfast caf�. The town is tiny, for example there were only about four parking spots in front of this caf� right off the main street. It seemed like a very small town just outside of Savannah. We ask about WIFI in the area and are told that Tubby's Tank House Bar just down the street has some for free. We head back to the boat and do some cleaning up and change the engine's oil. Afterwards we headed down to Tubby's and logged online for the first time in a week. On the way I snapped these photos of someone's little garden.
IMG_0310
Here is a close up of the sign:
IMG_0311
I got a laugh out of that.
I caught up on the latest and sent out some emails to family and friends as I enjoyed a couple nice cold beers. Our waitress mentioned they were having a live band later that night and that it's a real happening spot. We get down there around 10pm and the place is packed and everyone is around my age, early 20s! I was wondering where everyone came from, since I thought we sailed into some tiny quiet town outside of Savannah. I was also amazed at the percentage of attractive girls down there; I'd say around 90% were all very attractive. Of course there are attractive girls back home, but I do not recall ever walking into a bar and seeing such a high percentage and even probably a 50/50 ratio of girls/guys. Why don't we have a hot spot like that at home? Well, I attempted to talk to several different girls, but didn't get much conversation overall. I got turned down several times; maybe they didn't like my running shoes. They were the only shoes I had and I would never wear them going out, but oh well. From the little conversations I had I found out that apparently there is a university just a couple blocks away and that is where everyone came from. I would have had more fun if I were there with some friends.
Comments
Vessel Name: Sapphire Breeze
Vessel Make/Model: 1982 Catalina 25 SK/SR
Hailing Port: Mayo, MD
Crew: Justin
Extra: This site is all about my experiences with my first boat; from restoring it, to my sailing adventures. I enjoy hearing from my readers, so feel free to send me an email. I'm also interested in meeting new people in the area, especially people in my age range since I hardly know any that sail.

Who: Justin
Port: Mayo, MD