18 April 2011 | Alexandria, VA
11 May 2010
31 July 2009
26 April 2009
24 January 2009 | Cadle Creek
27 December 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
09 November 2008
13 October 2008
30 September 2008
13 July 2008 | Warehouse Creek
30 May 2008 | St. Mary's River
26 May 2008 | Rhode River & Chesapeake Bay
24 May 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
04 May 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
29 April 2008

Anchored overnight then Sailboat Show!

07 October 2007
My brother Brian joined me for his first time anchoring out overnight. Last time he did an overnighter aboard was last year when I had to spend the night in the slip. So we got into the Rhode River and attempted to sail when we got to the West River, but there was no wind. We drifted for a few minutes, then I decided to motor back to anchor for the rest of the afternoon and night.

I set the anchor on the Rhode River down near the islands. I took out one of my inflatable kayaks and Brian paddled around exploring the islands.
P1010627

That's Brian walking out on Tall Island. As you can tell, it is very tall!
P1010621

Ah, taking a break from all that paddling. Apparently our tax dollars are being put to excellent use.
P1010629

He's checking out the largest island.
P1010633

And he's paddling back:
P1010636

I liked this view:
P1010607

Shortly later... I like to take a photo of each sunset.
P1010642

It was a nice calm night. We did get to listen to some obnoxious power boater blasting his music, everything from Bob Marley, 70s and 80s pop/rock hits to Eminem at the end! I didn't mind some of it at first, but then it got annoying when the music got bad. They were on the other side of the river and there were times we could barely hear each other talk normally on our own boats! It seemed like the Blocktoberfest concert festival I went to in DC the day before. Around 9pm, they finally lowered the volume to a more moderate level, but we could all still hear it clearly. Fortunately they turned it off around 10pm. In between tracks, we would hear some other sailors yell "TURN IT DOWN!!!", but they just ignored the plea.

Monday, we woke up, packed everything up and motored 10-15 minutes to my marina. We stowed everything and headed over to the U.S.Sailboat Show in Annapolis. There were so many beautiful sailboats! We met up with Dave there and spent the day checking out all the boats and gear.
Comments
Vessel Name: Sapphire Breeze
Vessel Make/Model: 1982 Catalina 25 SK/SR
Hailing Port: Mayo, MD
Crew: Justin
Extra: This site is all about my experiences with my first boat; from restoring it, to my sailing adventures. I enjoy hearing from my readers, so feel free to send me an email. I'm also interested in meeting new people in the area, especially people in my age range since I hardly know any that sail.

Who: Justin
Port: Mayo, MD