18 April 2011 | Alexandria, VA
11 May 2010
31 July 2009
26 April 2009
24 January 2009 | Cadle Creek
27 December 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
09 November 2008
13 October 2008
30 September 2008
13 July 2008 | Warehouse Creek
30 May 2008 | St. Mary's River
26 May 2008 | Rhode River & Chesapeake Bay
24 May 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
04 May 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
29 April 2008

Sailing into the sunset!

21 November 2007 | Chesapeake Bay
I'm posting these updates a little late (11/28), but I like to keep track of my sails so it's better late then never.

Today was one of my best sails I have ever had; I just wish I could have shared the experience with others! I decided to take advantage of the excellent weather and sail right after work, but everyone else I knew was either still working or on their way to visit family for Thanksgiving. I could not have asked for better weather for late November on the Chesapeake Bay. The winds started out at 10 knots the first hour, then increasing to 15-17 knots the rest of the sail with a temperature around 60F and mostly sunny. Heading out, the bay was pretty smooth, waves were minimal. I took a heading that was on a beam reach to broad reach. I noticed how little I needed to move my tiller to keep my course, so I locked the tiller stay and took some pictures and videos, including going up on the deck. The tiller stay works well in calm seas on when either on a beam reach or going down wind.
P1010819

P1010814

I took a course North to NE, past Thomas Point Lighthouse and over towards Kent Island. I reached the other side of the bay in about two hours and headed back. The winds have since increased, as well as the waves. It wasn't choppy, but there were some rollers of maybe 2-3'. I had one very large wave which crashed across the deck and into the cockpit. I got a bit wet. I was often sailing 5-6+ knots over ground, maxed at 7. I was having way too much fun out there! I have always wanted to take some photos as I sail into the sunset and today was perfect!

I took tons of photos of the sunset, over 60 actually. With the sky changing every minute, the winds picking up, the boat is heeling over 30+ degrees, I'm steering with my feet as I'm trying to take pictures and the boat is pounding through increasing waves. Some came out of focus, some had bad placement, but there were several excellent photos. Below are a few of my favorites.

P1010846

P1010849

My favorite:
P1010868

P1010879

Here is a short video clip I took:


I arrived back to my marina just after dark. I wanted to do some night sailing this year on my boat and finally did for about the last hour. Here is my cockpit. Next time I will put my GPS into night vision mode where it inverts the colors, making it mostly dark.
P1010899

I did quite a bit of sailing at night out in the Atlantic in April and then convinced Dave we needed to do a night sail on the bay after a long day of working hard on my boat in May. I made it back to my marina and docked perfectly. Total trip was 18.1 nm, max speed of 7.04 knots over ground, avg 4.7 and out for just less than 4 hours. Here is my GPS chart plot:
11-21-07 Chart

This was probably the last really good sail I'm going to get out of the season. It will be hard to beat this experience with the perfect winds, mild temperature, and then coming back sailing into such a beautiful sunset.
Comments
Vessel Name: Sapphire Breeze
Vessel Make/Model: 1982 Catalina 25 SK/SR
Hailing Port: Mayo, MD
Crew: Justin
Extra: This site is all about my experiences with my first boat; from restoring it, to my sailing adventures. I enjoy hearing from my readers, so feel free to send me an email. I'm also interested in meeting new people in the area, especially people in my age range since I hardly know any that sail.

Who: Justin
Port: Mayo, MD