18 April 2011 | Alexandria, VA
11 May 2010
31 July 2009
26 April 2009
24 January 2009 | Cadle Creek
27 December 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
09 November 2008
13 October 2008
30 September 2008
13 July 2008 | Warehouse Creek
30 May 2008 | St. Mary's River
26 May 2008 | Rhode River & Chesapeake Bay
24 May 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
04 May 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
29 April 2008

Memorial Day Weekend Raft Up

26 May 2008 | Rhode River & Chesapeake Bay
For Memorial Day weekend, the plan was to sail over to Warehouse Creek on Kent Island along with Dave on his C-250 and Daren with his family on his C-25. Winds were forecasted on the light side, 5-10 knots, so we motored our way out into the bay to make some time. Once we got into the bay, we attempted to sail, but we were mostly hobby horsing with sails luffing. We weren't making any progress across the bay and motoring for 5-6 hours isn't fun. We decided we would head back to the Rhode River, drop the hook and raft up. It seemed like a lot of people had the same idea at the same time. I was leading a pack of several boats towards the anchorage.
On my way:
P1020266

I worked on my boat for a little bit while everyone else took out their dinghies for some exploring. I removed the cabinetry from below the galley to work on my fresh water system and replace the galley water pump. Dave and Daren came back and saw the cabinetry sitting in the cockpit and made a funny comment about me taking my boat apart and working on projects. I've had my boat for 2.5 years and still have yet to complete my fresh water system makeover that I began two years ago. I've just been using one of those collapsible 5 gallon jugs which work well.

After putting my boat back together and relaxing for a bit, Daren's daughter Emma joined me for a ride in Dave's dingy for a little exploring and photo shooting.
Our raft up:
P1020270

Checking out one of the islands with a sandy beach:
P1020278

That's our raft up about a third from the right side:
P1020280

From the same spot using my telephoto lens to zoom up on our raft up:
P1020281

P1020282
P1020285

P1020286

P1020287

P1020290

P1020291

P1020292

Once back to the boats, Dave grilled up some burgers and Daren and Rita cooked up some delicious pork and rice. We sat back and enjoyed some good beer and food. Then Emma had fun playing hide and seek on our boats, trying to find some tiny places to hide from Daren.

We had a calm night at anchor, although the winds shifted and caused my 5' keel to get tangled over Dave's anchor rode. Using a boat hook and some tugging, we got her free so we all swung correctly.

Sunday we took our time in the morning and then set sail around 10am. There was a small craft advisory, although you could not really tell while in the protected anchorage. Dave and I had an exciting sail across the bay single handling our boats. Daren and his family turned back early. Waves were about 3' but there were some rogue waves approaching 5'! I just watched them come and have the bow go up and come smashing down with water spraying everywhere. There were also quite a few large motor yachts out there coming back from their weekend trips causing some large wakes. It was a fun sail staying mostly in the 5-6 knot range.

Here is my course from the weekend:
2008-5-26 Mem Weekend Chart
Comments
Vessel Name: Sapphire Breeze
Vessel Make/Model: 1982 Catalina 25 SK/SR
Hailing Port: Mayo, MD
Crew: Justin
Extra: This site is all about my experiences with my first boat; from restoring it, to my sailing adventures. I enjoy hearing from my readers, so feel free to send me an email. I'm also interested in meeting new people in the area, especially people in my age range since I hardly know any that sail.

Who: Justin
Port: Mayo, MD