18 April 2011 | Alexandria, VA
11 May 2010
31 July 2009
26 April 2009
24 January 2009 | Cadle Creek
27 December 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
09 November 2008
13 October 2008
30 September 2008
13 July 2008 | Warehouse Creek
30 May 2008 | St. Mary's River
26 May 2008 | Rhode River & Chesapeake Bay
24 May 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
04 May 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
29 April 2008

My First Sail & Refinished Teak

29 January 2006 | St. Michaels, MD
Well, I had my first sail with my Catalina 25. It was quite the short adventure. Okay, so my younger brother Brian and I spent the weekend on the boat so we could get more work done and save time since it's currently a 2 hour drive away. The interior is clean and finished, so we don't have to worry about the chemicals anymore for over-nighting. On Saturday I reinstalled the exterior teak, checked some electrical connections and got a few other things done. The weather was beautiful, ~55F, 10 mph winds, and sunny. As I was attempting to rig the boat, I found several lines/halyards that I did not know which did what. I figured out the main, but for the head sail, it appears that the halyard for the rolling furler is stuck at the top of the track that the sail slides into. I actually took out my binoculars to look at the top of the mast and see how it works. It appears that there is a clip the slides in the track, up and down and there is a line (halyard) attached at one end, but I cannot bring the needed end down. It looks like the only way in getting it down is going to the top of the mast. I improvised by using what seemed like a halyard, only too short to reach, so I extended it with another line to be able to raise my headsail. I was hoping to be able to go out for my first sail, but by the time I re-rigged the boat, the sun was setting. Not all my navigation lights are working so I didn't want to take any risks with that. We ended up going out to eat and then organized the interior a bit before we got some sleep. I was only using one cabin light to conserve electricity, but I noticed the light dimming within about 15 minutes. I checked the voltage and it was down to 8.89V, so I immediately switched over to the second battery. I checked the voltage and it was 11.77 volts prior to switching over, but I don't know how long it has been since they have been charged. It was much brighter for around 15-30 minutes and then began dimming. I shut off all the power and used flash lights for the rest of the night.

Brian slept in the rear berth and I slept in the V-berth. He slept great; I on the other hand had a so-so night. I found the cushions stiff and being 6' tall in the V-berth doesn't leave much extra space length wise. I also was woken by the dock lines hitting the side of the boat after they slack against the side from swaying back and forth in the slip. When I decided to get up, I noticed all the condensation along the cabin walls in the V-berth. I had the doors and hatch closed, so all the moisture from breathing over night was all over the walls, even dripping in spots. It was around 40F over night, so it was pretty chilly as well, but with my mummy bag and Brian bringing several blankets we were alright.

When we got up Sunday, I tried soldering on the new PL-259 connector for my VHF antennae, but since I don't have an electric hookup, I tried using Solder Weld and a lighter. I didn't have any luck with that and also I think the connector I bought from Radio Shack needs an optional piece that attaches to it. Anyone have recommendations on soldering without electricity or the expensive butane torches I've seen? Anyone have luck with Solder Weld?

Well, the forecast was for rain in the afternoon and possible light rain in the morning. I figured we would go ahead and go on a short sail just to take her out. I was leery about not having my VHF operational, but I figured we should be okay since we're not going far and we have cell phone reception. I decided to go ahead and take a short sail. I started the outboard, usually about 3-4 pulls and it starts right up. We took in all the dock lines and made our way out the channel. So far so good. We make it out into the main part of the river, it's very wide, and I turn the bow into the wind. We start by raising the headsail and since the rolling furler doesn't work, I had to treat it as a hank on. We raised the genoa 150 and then raised the main. We got in the cockpit and started cruising. It was a nice steady breeze, the forecast the day before said ~10-15 mph winds, and it seemed great, maybe even a bit more than needed for my first time. I was cruising along easily at 4-5 knots. Then within probably about 10-15 minutes, my brother noticed the genoa tearing! Okay, on Saturday I just picked it up from the sail maker paying $80 to have some previous tears patched up. Well, the sail maker did show me how the fabric was worn and it almost tore like paper. He patched it up and strengthened some seams and said it may last a little while, but I will have to buy a new sail eventually. Well, I don't think it's worth repairing since it appears to be tearing on the seams all over due to sun rot. So, now I'm in the market to replace the headsail. So, we immediately drop the sail and put it in the cabin. I then cruise around for about another 20-30 minutes under the main only. It was less stressful, especially since during tacking all I had to worry about is the main. I didn't think it would be that hard to take out Brian when he doesn't know a whole lot about sailing, but it was hard to explain what to do. When we tacked with the genoa on, it was more stressful because I was trying to explain what needs to be done and I do what I needed to do. It was his first time, he loved it, and he really wants to learn. With practice we'll both get much more proficient. Well, it then started raining lightly and I was thinking it was time to head back to our slip. I follow through the channel markers and had the wind coming directly from the port side. I was heading straight for my slip which was still probably about a � mile straight ahead. I was only going about 2 knots with my main when I ran aground! Yes, I ran aground on my first time out. I was still very far from shore and there was only the one pair of channel markers. Once you go through, it was very wide and I was thinking it was still going to be deep. I didn't pay attention to my depth meter (B&G Network Quad), which is pretty fancy. I need to find out how to use all the features, but it has a shallow depth alarm. Too bad it was set around 3', beeping when I was already grounded. We took down the main because the wind was beginning to make the boat heel over since the keel was stuck in what was probably mud or sand. Since my keel was down (~5' draft), I then immediately told Brian to crank the keel up as I tried to start the engine. Well, I learned that next time wait to crank up the keel until the engine starts. Normally the Honda starts with 2-4 pulls, this time I was trying for what felt like 5 minutes. I was feeling like giving up, when it finally started. I kept checking to make sure it was primed, in choke, and that the shut off button was pulled out to on. If I recall, it may have been the shut off button and that I initially didn't pull it all the way quite to on. Good thing it did start because since we pulled the keel up, we only drifted into shallower waters. My depth meter was saying 2' which is right under the hull. I was worried about my rudder grounding since the keel was all the way up. So, it was such a relief that it started, it put it in reverse and slowly gave it a little throttle and watched the knot meter. It stayed at 0 knots for a few seconds then slowly began to back up out the way we came! Talk about a wave of relief! I then backed us out to the middle of the channel and the water was more like 10' and just motored slowly to my slip. When I got to my slip, amazingly I docked my boat perfectly on my first try! I was impressed because docking was something I was worried about. The conditions may not have been bad, but there was still quite a breeze, probably around 10-15 mph. I just coasted in neutral into the slip area and then blipped it in reverse for a second or two in order to reverse or make adjustments. Brian helped tie the lines to the pilings and we finished our first sail!

It was quite the adventure and not the laid back, relaxing sailing I was first expecting. Having the headsail tearing up and then running aground was not fun. I learned that my ability is not as great as I thought. In the past I always sailed with experienced sailors. I was so confident in all the reading I had done with the combination of my previous sailing experiences; I thought it would be easy. Once I got out there, I know how pretty much every thing works, but I really need to work on my proficiency and methods. I also need to have someone take a look at how I rigged the boat and help me with getting some things set up correctly (museum that I bought from said they will do that, need to see if they will follow through).

So, now I have to buy a new headsail. I knew I was going to have to buy another sometime, but I wasn't planning on having to buy it now. On the bright side, I'll probably buy a new sail and also get a navy blue UV edge cover to match the boat and main cover instead of the ugly brown edged original. Since I'm going to be sailing my C-25 across the bay most likely by March 1st, I will need my sail by then. That's another thing, sailing across the bay. After studying charts and how I would navigate my way across through the rivers, I was thinking I might be able to do it with my brothers and friends. Now, after going out for the first time by myself and seeing how when you are far from shore, it can be hard to distinguish different areas, I think I will want someone experienced to help me on my journey across. The museum said they might be able to have someone help me sail across.

I'm glad to finally have sailed her. After reading some threads on here about swing keels taking on water, I'm relieved to know that she appears to be dry and with no trunk damage that I could not have seen previously. I remember reading one story how the owner fell in love with the boat, it wasn't taking on water in the slip when he bought it, but when he took it out, it turned out to be taking on a lot of water because of stress on the keel under sail. I now also know that the head sail needs to be replaced and it is better to know now in advance to my journey across the bay.

Next weekend I plan to install my new 4 spring motor bracket from Catalina Direct which just arrived today along with a few other projects such as new bow navigation lights, transom trim piece, new stainless steel hasp/eye for the companionway, and work on some other things.

Here are a few pictures:
Me sailing:
DSCN1382

My brother Brian enjoying his first sail ever:
DSCN1384

I took some newer/better photos of her in the water and after some of the work I've done:
DSCN1388
DSCN1389

Here are some close ups of the refinished exterior teak. I used West Marine's Wood-Pro gloss. I originally was going to use Cetol Light after doing lots of research, but West Marine had this stuff for less than half price and I remember reading some people had good results with it and it is the equivelant of Cetol. So, here are my results after 4 coats. It was a lot of work, sanding off all the old finish and worn wood, but it paid off. This shows the boards I finished next to the unfinished wood. That's what it all used to look like.
DSCN1376-1
DSCN1374
DSCN1373

Well, hope you enjoyed my story of my first sail. This is the beginning of my life in sailing and I look forward to many adventures in the future.
Comments
Vessel Name: Sapphire Breeze
Vessel Make/Model: 1982 Catalina 25 SK/SR
Hailing Port: Mayo, MD
Crew: Justin
Extra: This site is all about my experiences with my first boat; from restoring it, to my sailing adventures. I enjoy hearing from my readers, so feel free to send me an email. I'm also interested in meeting new people in the area, especially people in my age range since I hardly know any that sail.

Who: Justin
Port: Mayo, MD