18 April 2011 | Alexandria, VA
11 May 2010
31 July 2009
26 April 2009
24 January 2009 | Cadle Creek
27 December 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
09 November 2008
13 October 2008
30 September 2008
13 July 2008 | Warehouse Creek
30 May 2008 | St. Mary's River
26 May 2008 | Rhode River & Chesapeake Bay
24 May 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
04 May 2008 | Chesapeake Bay
29 April 2008

Time to sell.

31 July 2009
I have decided it is time to sell my Sapphire Breeze. She is a 1982 Catalina 25 with a standard rig and swing keel. She has been such a great boat to me, providing me with so many fond memories, but unfortunately my priorities have changed. I have put a tremendous amount of work into her over the past several years as you can see here in my blog. She is ready for her new owner to enjoy sailing her as much as I have the past several years.

List of features:
-Swing keel, 5' draft down, 2' 8" up allows for great stability and pointing ability as well as access to shallow less crowded anchorages and less expensive shallow slips.
-135% Genoa from North Sails Cruising Direct, new for 2009 season.
-Roller furler
-Currently has a C-25 tall rig mainsail in good condition that fits perfectly reefed. Original mainsail is ripped.
-1998 Honda 15hp 4 stroke extra long shaft outboard with electric start. Runs excellently, plenty of power, efficient, and is relatively quiet for an outboard. Oils changed spring 2009.
-6 gallon fuel tank. Catalina had implemented the sealed off fuel locker by 1982.
-4 spring Garhauer outboard bracket installed 2006.
-Pop-top for plenty of standing headroom and fresh air at anchor/dock
-Wind scoop for the forward hatch at anchor.
-New improved bow light, anchor light, steaming/deck combo light all with new marine wire to the circuit panel (2007).
-Rewired mast with Catalina Direct's kit (2007).
-43 watt Kyocera solar panel installed May 2008 charge the two battery banks
-Sony stereo with Polk speakers installed May 2008
-Upgraded Catalina bow stem fitting with anchor roller; much stronger/safer than original, installed June 2007.
-Fresh bottom job completed April 2009 using red Interlux Micron CSC paint.
-Windows resealed April 2009.
-New LED cabin lights for 2009 (2 main cabin installed, remaining 3 need wiring).
-All fresh water plumbing replaced and connected April 2009.
-Both manual pumps for sinks rebuilt spring 2009.
-All swing keel hardware replaced in June 2007 (bronze castings, pin, bushing, spacers, keel cable, turning ball, winch, and keel hose).
-New Jabsco marine head spring 2006.
-All new plumbing for head June 2007.
-New tiller May 2008 with tiller stay and custom fit cover.
-Bimini installed on custom made genoa track cars.
-Winch covers
-Spinnaker pole & topping lift, adjustable ring and track on mast, and secondary winches.
-Fenders
-B&G knot and depth meter
-Alcohol stove
-Curtains
-Adjustable main sail outhaul and boom topping lift, July 2007.
-Cockpit cushions
-VHF
-Bulkhead mounted compass
-Life jackets
-2 Fire extinguishers
-Owner's manuals

Under sail:




Port side:


Last year I completely refinished all my teak with Cetol Natural Teak finish and Cetol Clear Gloss. I put on a fresh coat of clear gloss this spring and it looks like new.


43 watt Kyocera solar panel:


Galley:


Main cabin/mobile office with dinette layout:


Rear quarter berth:


Unfortunately I couldn't get Matt to help me sell my boat this time.




This is a chance to own a one of a kind Catalina 25 that is ready to sail in very good condition. She is a beauty and most people have a hard time believing that she is 27 years old! She is perfect for the Chesapeake Bay, being able to explore the shallow creaks and she is stable when it gets rough out there.

I am asking $9,000 and open to offers. She is docked in Mayo, MD. Please contact me at Justin_4192 at hotmail.com
Comments
Vessel Name: Sapphire Breeze
Vessel Make/Model: 1982 Catalina 25 SK/SR
Hailing Port: Mayo, MD
Crew: Justin
Extra: This site is all about my experiences with my first boat; from restoring it, to my sailing adventures. I enjoy hearing from my readers, so feel free to send me an email. I'm also interested in meeting new people in the area, especially people in my age range since I hardly know any that sail.

Who: Justin
Port: Mayo, MD