Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
17 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Inside Seams

Day two of the dinghy build started out with me finishing wiring the hull bottoms together on the centerline of the bottom panels. This was much easier than the wiring of the chine edges of the bottom panels and the side panels.

North River

29 December 2016 | St. Marys, GA
Capn Andy/Winter
I made Beouf Bourguignon for Christmas Day for anyone still in the boatyard. The expected group of about a dozen boatyarders ended up with just four of us and a huge kettle of food. I followed both Anthony Bourdain's Les Halles recipe and one of Martha Stewart's. I had planned to make parmesan potatoes, but ended up putting them in the beef cooking pot, so it became beef stew.
.
I was unable to find parts for the VHF whip antenna that goes on the top of the mast. It is a TRAM Browning with a loading coil that has a 3/8X24 stud, a common antenna mounting thread. The whip and mounting nut that came in fit the thread, but would not support the whip properly. Perhaps I had ordered the wrong replacement whip, like maybe for a Metz antenna.
.
My email to the TRAM Browning distributor was not answered. The Shakespeare whip antenna looked like it might have the same mounting hardware, so I searched for that. I ended up on a CB shop site called Blue Parrott, and was able to find parts there that would do the job. What I ended up ordering was a 3/8X24 coupling nut and a .1" whip stud mounting. We will see if they fit. Total cost was less than ten dollars.
.
I had purchased a couple of cheap GPS dongles from China and one came in. On the back of it was the name "G-Mouse". It took some work to get it to connect to OpenCPN on the linux machine running Navigatrix. In the connection tab, the connection is /dev/ttyACM0, where 0 is zero. There is a wealth of info on the Navigatrix forum about troubleshooting GPS devices. I have another coming in and we'll see if that will work. It is like a thumbdrive, it has no cable.
.
The no-see-ums came back, like they do this time of year, swarming and biting. I retreated to the safety of the galley. The sky was bright with sunset clouds, so I grabbed the 30D and took the bike down to the dock and took a picture. Sometimes, even with flies biting you, an image can make it all worth it.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups