Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
23 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
23 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

D4 Launchie

The laptop pooped the bed, so I have to scurry around with alternatives. Not as bad as typing on the phone.

17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

Hades

03 June 2018 | St Marys, GA
Capn Andy/humid, thunderstorms
The way to beat the heat is to get up early and get some work done before the temperature soars up into the triple digits. I got up early and after breakfast got the electric bosun's chair ready for action, mounted the brick battery, hoisted the single block up with the genoa halyard. I got the safety harness organized with the spinnaker halyard as a safety line threaded through a Petzl descender. A bag of tools was organized, wire stripper, multifunction screwdriver, bottled water, pliers. It looked like the steaming light, which had been hanging by its wiring, needed one of the wires to be reattached as well as reattaching the steaming light to its "Quick Fit" bracket on the mast.
.
The new winch on the bosun's chair is almost exactly the same as the old winch, but it doesn't hold position as well when you stop it. It starts to free wheel slowly. Pressing the UP button a couple of times would get it to hold position. I went up about 1 foot at a time and paused to take out the slack in the safety line. The winch will pull in about 5 feet a minute, so it is slow going.
.
When I got up to the light I undid the fixture from the wiring and bulb and dumped out some water that had collected in the light due to it hanging upside down. There wasn't much in there. I found that the fixture was slightly out of shape and the Quick Fit latch wouldn't grab. It is likely the fixture will get loose again, I will have to go up again to work on it. I expected to make a couple trips up there.
.
Going down was much more rapid that going up. The motor would free wheel a bit, then slow and stop, so I would give it a DOWN button to get it going again. A small group of yardbirds were gathered in front of Kaimu, I was the entertainment. I noticed it was already hotter on deck than before. It was heating up.
.
Richard and Gill had packed up and were heading by air to the UK, said goodbye. They will come back when I hopefully won't be in the yard anymore. It is a time of transition in the boatyard. Jock of the catamaran Sophie steamed up the North River on a voyage from Panama, most of it singlehanded. I guess his heart surgery was successful. Another catamaran is double parked at the floating dock. The boatyard is beginning to fill up as hurricane season begins.
.
I had wanted to make Tom Yum soup for a while, but my instant Tom Yum paste is now more than 2 years old. I took a little taste of it and it wasn't foul, but definitely had a stale taste. I made a soup anyway and it turned out OK. I then ordered new paste and hot sesame oil, which I was out of, from Amazon.
.
The soup is something I can make anytime at sea, two pints of water, two chicken bouillon cubes, two tablespoons of tom yum paste, four tablespoons of balsamic vinegar, then drizzle two beaten eggs into the boiling soup, slowly, to make egg drops. A portion of the water is liquid drained from a can of baby clams. The clams are added last and the soup is ready. Hot sesame oil would have been added at the end if I had any. Other ingredients could be any shrimp, chicken, or mushrooms. Tofu. I had made it once with canned clams and canned straw mushrooms. The balsamic vinegar takes the place of vinegar and brown sugar in the original recipe.
.
The image is of a painting titled "Hades" by Leonardo Godoy Mushsam of Greece, available for purchase at saatchiart.com.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups