Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
17 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Inside Seams

Day two of the dinghy build started out with me finishing wiring the hull bottoms together on the centerline of the bottom panels. This was much easier than the wiring of the chine edges of the bottom panels and the side panels.

Suzuki Onboard

08 January 2019 | Beaufort, NC
Capn Andy/Cold and Windy
The stage was set for the move of the Suzuki outboard from John's garage in Moorehead City to the dinghy dock at Beaufort and then out to Kaimu at anchor. The weight of the motor is 127 lbs. but power trim and tilt adds some weight and electric start adds even more. We were probably going to be struggling with about 165 lbs. This was done carefully as we are two old retirees who will be hitting the ibuprofen tomorrow, especially if we screw up.
.
The motor was on a roll around stand and it was easy to get it over to John's pickup truck. By tipping the stand toward the tailgate we were able to get the heaviest part, the upper cowling, onto the tailgate, then the lower unit was lifted and the outboard was slid on a tarpaulin all the way onto the pickup. Off we went to the dinghy dock.
.
When we got to the dinghy dock another pair of older gentlemen were minding their own business and John yelled for them to join us at the dinghy dock. The tailgate came down, and we somehow got the roll around stand and the motor off the truck and rolling toward the dinghy. Fortunately the tide was up so the ramp to the floating dock was almost level.
.
At the dinghy, which had cushions on the aft and middle seats, the engine cover was removed and a line was tied onto the lifting eye on the top of the motor. I got in the dinghy with one end of the line and the motor was eased into the dinghy. This was a balancing act with the chance of both me and the motor taking a swim. After the motor was positioned on the aft and middle seats, I sat in the bow seat and had moved the oarlocks to the forward pair so I could row out to Kaimu. John said I had about 5 inches of freeboard at the bow. There was a breeze and tide current running, but the waterfront was not choppy and if I was careful I might make it out to Kaimu without a disaster.
.
It was awkward rowing from the front seat and I slowly headed out away from dry land. A motorboat was coming up the channel and slowed, thankfully, to allow me to go across. At Kaimu I maneuvered the dinghy and tied off at the rear beam and climbed aboard.
.
Once again the engine sled was lowered down in the water out of sight. The dinghy was brought forward into the space under the engine box. I pulled the come-along's cable out far enough that with the come-along hooked on the gantry's beam, the cable would reach the engine in the dinghy. I hooked the cable onto the lifting eye on top of the engine and climbed back aboard. The Suzuki was hoisted out of the dinghy and up as high as I could hoist it. I needed to get at the right side panel of the Suzuki to remove it and hook up the remote control throttle, shift, and electrical cables. By the way, where are the remote controls? I remembered throwing them into the truck bed, but I don't remember them arriving at the dock.
.
I called John and he said, "Yes, they're right here on the porch at my house." Oops, he said to meet him at the dinghy dock at noon. I rowed in with a water jug to fill and a bag of garbage to dispose. There was a very pretty girl sitting at the gazebo above the dock and she smiled. She was a sailor, obviously, with a sailing jacket, a blue water sailing jacket.
.
The water was turned off and there were locks on it. No water. I disposed of the trash and John arrived with the remote cables and the remote engine control. A fellow on the dock was striking up a conversation with me about his boats and recommended the burgers at the Royal James bar and grill, the best $2 burgers in Beaufort. I replied the only $2 burgers in Beaufort. I rowed back to Kaimu.
.
I cut the zip ties to release the coil of cables and wires. It was not too difficult to find out where they hooked up to the engine, but the rubber cable clamp that fit between the lower cowling and the engine cover and had little holes for each cable and wire was very difficult to fit in place. It was essential to get it right, because if it leaked, salt water would get into the engine and ruin it.
.
The engine sled was hoisted back into position and the redundant support straps were reattached. I lowered the Suzuki down onto the sled's transom and bolted the engine in place. I was interrupted by a kayaker who appeared at the stern and started asking questions about Kaimu. I took a break to give him the short version of the last 18 years or so.
.
He had a salvaged boat that he was restoring as he lived aboard and traveled with his crew. "Is your crew a girl with a red ocean jacket?" I asked. "Yes, that's her". "Very pretty", I said. We talked about good ports to visit and get boat work done and I told him about the boatyard in Georgia. He seemed to want to not haul out, most of his work was on deck, and he needed a quiet out of the way place to anchor, but also needed stores and shops, which would make a place busy, not quiet.
.
I wanted to hand pump some fuel with the primer bulb before I fitted the Suzuki fitting to the end of the line, but nothing came out while I exercised the bulb. Hmm. Maybe the Yamaha has been unjustly blamed.
.
The next day I removed the fuel primer bulb and found it did produce pressure at its output when I squeezed it, but there was no suction at the input. It looked like the one way valve was not sealing, so squeezing the bulb squeezed out fuel but then it would return to the bulb when it was released. I called the marine store in Moorehead City, Ace Marine, and they said they had primer bulbs for 5/16 fuel line. I Ubered there and the Uber cost more than the fuel bulb.
.
Back aboard Kaimu I tried the new fuel bulb and I got fuel, that problem was solved. I pumped out about a pint and a half of fuel into an empty clear water bottle and got a little bit of water in the bottom of the bottle, but after a small amount of discolored fuel, clear good fuel started coming out. I spliced the fuel line together with the new bulb and continued on down to the water separation filter and the engine. I needed to attach a Suzuki fuel fitting at the end of the line, drain whatever fuel and impurities had settled in the separation filter's bowl, and then I could start the engine. It ran so quietly I didn't know it was running. After a few minutes I shut it off and continued making preparations to get underway.
.
I made a DIY antenna for the VHF radio, since the old antenna was at the bottom of the sea. I reattached the starboard running light to the hull with JB Weld. I tested the running lights and they all worked. The engine controls had to be mounted to the helm station which was a quick job of three bolts that came with the engine and controls. I tried the VHF radio and got the weather channels, but they are so strong it doesn't mean you can get marine traffic at sea, we'll see how it works hailing bridges. The handheld VHF batteries were low so they went on charge.
.
The next destination is Carolina Beach and Joyner Marine. I planned the route and it looks like 85 miles, maybe up to 25 gallons of fuel. Everyone says the fuel injected Suzuki is very fuel efficient, so we will also see about that. We have 10 gallons in the main tank and over 20 gallons in jerry cans. Shouldn't be a problem.
.
The photo is of the Suzuki's engine controls, mounted on the helm station. Ready to go.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups