Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
17 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Inside Seams

Day two of the dinghy build started out with me finishing wiring the hull bottoms together on the centerline of the bottom panels. This was much easier than the wiring of the chine edges of the bottom panels and the side panels.

More Beam and Fagor

22 March 2019 | St Marys, GA
Capn Andy | Cold Front, Windy
I spent a day glassing the top and bottom and one side of the crossbeam. First I rolled out the glass the full length of the beam, then cut the roll from the rolled out cloth at the end of the beam, then put away the roll and cut the length of the glass laid out on the beam into two parts. The cloth must be 50" wide, so I had 25" wide cloth on the beam and its sister piece also 25" wide. I rolled up the extra piece for later laminations. The beam is 5X10", so 25" is more than enough to cover the top and bottom and one side.
.
I rolled up the glass and began priming the beam with epoxy. I was still working with 3 oz. batches which doesn't seem like much, but if you are putting a prime coat on without any glass it covers a third of the beam or maybe half on the narrower top and bottom 5" wide surfaces. I rolled out the glass again and began wetting it out and now used larger batches, probably around 6 ounces, not using the accurate syringes to measure the epoxy but using the lower part of a Dixie cup cut off at a guessed at volume. When I was almost finished and needed a smaller batch I reverted to the syringes and made a 3 oz. mix.
.
The next day I was not eager to row into the boatyard due to chilly weather and rain. I kept the galley warm with the propane Buddy heater and after noon the rain stopped. Still chilly, but I was out on deck looking for a couple of items, glass microballons, filler for fairing the beam, and the remaining gallon of epoxy resin, the hardener was already on shore and being used, but I had used up a gallon of resin of the 3 gallon epoxy kit. The gallon of hardener was half used.
.
I rowed ashore and someone decided to take my spot at the end of the floating dock, I maneuvered around to the side and tied up. I was using the oars I made of a single cedar 2X4. There's enough wood in that to make 2 oars, but I guess I should have trimmed them down a bit more, I referred to them as Russian oars, they looked clunky, the shafts were 2X2, rounded, but still clunky.
.
One of the recently launched sailboats at the floating dock provided some interest to anyone negotiating the passage from the floating dock to the ramp up to the fixed dock, it was a young dog, rich brown color, and eager to sniff and snarl at anyone coming by. It's like dealing with bees, they say to be quiet and nice and they won't sting you, but it's hard to be quiet with a boisterous puppy that is almost as large as a good sized dog. The owner of the boat whose name now escapes me had got in a conversation like you would have on a dock of sailors, the talk of passages, boats, and such. Now he was gesturing toward a Chinese outboard motor and asking if I'd like to buy it, he'd take $100 for it, it was new, but it didn't run. I suggested he sell it to Doc, the fellow who cuts up boats, he buys and sells boat stuff. Then I went off to bring the microballoons and epoxy resin to the breezeway of the Barn where I was working. Then I went to the woodshop on the other side of the yard.
.
Getting around the boatyard was a chore this time, before I left I had rolled around on a Univega road bike that now was suffering from salt water corrosion, it was out of commission, now I walked everywhere and I was suffering. But there was a bike pointed out to me by a new returnee to the yard from Ontario, Capn Jane Morgan. She saw a bike at the Salvation Army that was too big for her for $30, she asked where was my bike and I told her about the corrosion and she told me about the Salvation Army bike. I immediately went there with Radio Bill and purchased the bike and we brought it back to the breezeway. It needed a rear tire and tube so I ordered a cheap pair of good tires and tubes from Philadelphia, the rims measured 23 mm wide and were marked 700CX45 and I wondered if I could fit 23's on it. They were the best deal on the internet. Maybe I should have gone to the local bike store, an excellent bike store, Camden Cycle Center.
.
The expedited shipping bike tires and tubes, 2nd day US Post Office Priority, arrived 5 days later, and I lanced one of the new tubes right off the bat, but had an old 27" tube that almost fit, soon the bike was up and running on the skinny tires. The comment was that the skinny tires were not as stable as the wider Urban or Mountain tires. I did intricate figure 8's on the skinny tires, they were fine.
.
Now I could zoom around like I did the last time I was here. The bike was an old Specialized Crossroads Cruz and looked great with its alloy rims and road training, not racing, tires. At the woodshop I googled the Chinese 2 stroke outboard, a Hangkai 6 HP. The reviews were mixed, some were positive, and the negative reviews had the usual internet haters adding admonitions about buying Chinese crap. But there was a reference that these were clones of Yamaha 1990's 2 strokes. The repair parts probably came from China, so why shouldn't the Chinese just built the whole engine and sell it, even though it was no longer legal to be sold in the USA.
.
I ran into the guys trying to sell the engine again and I said Doc said the engine wasn't worth $100. We talked about outboard motors and I ran on about fixing cheap motors that I had purchased as if their motor was not even worth fixing. Would I give $50 for it, $40? Yes, I thought, the propeller was probably worth half that at least, I gave him the money and he went off to the bar for some celebration.
.
Doc was tearing up through the boatyard on his Mule, a motorized version of a golf cart, but much more impressive. He had an Oogah horn on it. I gestured to him to stop and we went to the travel lift well at the head of the floating dock. I ran down and carried up the motor and we brought it back past the breezeway to Doc's Chop Shop where he sold used boat parts from the boats he chopped up. He was a medical examiner in his former life, so I told him, Doc, you are a real cut up.
.
It turned out I had a copy of a DVD of Yamaha 2 Stroke Service Manuals that someone had advertised as 4 stroke manuals, so I bought it and then complained and got my money back, I was looking for a 4 stroke manual for the 50 HP High Thrust I was using back then.
.
Doc and I opened the engine cover of the $40 outboard and someone came by, Gee that looks like a brand new engine!, they said. Yeah, but it doesn't run. It probably needs some expensive Yamaha parts. My cheap Specialized bike needed parts that cost more than the bike, but the joy of riding again was worth a lot more. We rode into the local neighborhood a few times. I found the front dérailleur wouldn't move the chain to the big chainring, it was like being stuck in 2nd gear. When I got back to the boatyard I sprayed the dérailleur with Blaster and now the bike would go into the higher gears. It worked perfectly.
.
A pot luck dinner was organized and I signed up to cook Kahlua Pork. I use a pressure cooker and liquid smoke and a pork butt. Coincidently Radio Bill came into the woodshop and said someone is throwing out a stainless steel pressure cooker. It was on the recycling pile. I brought it into the shop and we tried to figure out how it worked. Maybe it was thrown into recycling because it didn't work properly. The brand name on the knob on top was Fagor. I googled images of Fagor and one of them looked like this pressure cooker. It was called the Classic 61 model. When I searched that I found a users manual that was in Spanish. I found that this pressure cooker sold for about $120 when it was available at Macy's. It looked like the knob on top should turn to seal the lid, but it would not turn. I disassembled the mechanism and it made no sense. Maybe the bolt that the knob was attached to had a screw type of device and it was jammed. I sprayed it with the Blaster spray and put it in a vice in the shop and with great effort got the knob to turn. I reassembled the mechanism which was like a bar across the lid and it fit into sockets on either side. The knob brought the bar in contact with the sockets and then put pressure on the lid and sealed it. I scrubbed the mechanism to get rid of any remaining Blaster spray.
.
I was eager to try the pressure cooker so went out to shop for ingredients, returned and began cooking a 7 lb. pork butt. After it was done I used two forks to create pulled pork and left the boatyard dogs some pork bones and other discarded bits. I added a half bottle of Stubbs barbecue sauce and tossed the meat with it. The next day it was warmed up for the pot luck dinner and soon it was all gone.
.
The image is of the Fagor Classic 61 pressure cooker.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups