Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
23 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
23 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

D4 Launchie

The laptop pooped the bed, so I have to scurry around with alternatives. Not as bad as typing on the phone.

17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

Yet More Anchor Woes

18 July 2019 | St Marys, GA
Capn Andy | Hot and Humid
I awoke and got ready to commute to the boatyard in the little D4 dinghy. At some point I noticed Kaimu was facing upstream in the ebb tide current. That shouldn't be, she should be hanging from the stern anchor. I found the stern anchor rode was shredded only a short way up. My guess is that a power boat cut the rode with its propeller. Now Kaimu could foul her anchors again when the current changed . I was planning a trip to Hawaii and needed to set another stern anchor.
.
I checked Craig's List for anchors and there were a few but overpriced. Same on eBay. I wandered over to Doc's Chop Shop, the used boat parts vendor in the boatyard. Doc was in town and wouldn't return till later in the day, but there was a pallet of 3 anchors. One, an old CQR looked like it might fit the bill.
.
Later when Doc returned he brought me to another pallet that was covered with a tarp and had more anchors and chain on it. We haggled over pricing and I ended up with a Danforth Deepset Plow and 50 feet of chain for $200. No shipping, in fact Doc brought everything down to the dinghy dock with a forklift. When I returned aboard Kaimu I just left the anchor and chain in the dinghy.
.
The next day I began putting things together in the morning before the heat and humidity climbed up into the triple digits. A 5/8" shackle fastened the anchor to a 3/8" swivel on the end of the chain. The other end was shackled to itself around the stern crosstube. The chain was 5/16", same as the primary anchor chain.
.
I wanted to slack off the main anchors at the bow, take the new anchor as far as I could upstream, drop it, then set it by winching in the main anchors, pulling the boat forward. I needed to do this on the flood tide so I waited most of the day for time and tide to pass.
.
We were in a heat wave that sent temperatures up over 100 degrees in the shade in the boatyard. Aboard Kaimu it was not so bad if my sunshade created a place to sit out of the direct sunlight. As the day progressed the shadowed area ended up in the middle of the deck with nowhere to sit. I drank a lot of water.
.

When the flood tide was beginning to exert itself I took the anchor and chain out as far as I could and deployed. Doc had advised me to put a buoy on a line to the anchor so that I could retrieve it if the rode parted. Also I could disengage the anchor, retrieve the bow anchors, and return and retrieve the stern anchor over the bow using the windlass.
.
The windlass. Simpson Lawrence Sprint 1000 that had cost me about $800 in parts so far this year. I had let out about 20 feet of rode before setting the stern anchor and now began hauling it in to set the stern anchor. The rode kept jamming and I thought it would be a long long day pulling in a few inches at a time and prying the rode out of the gypsy's teeth. The line was supposed to peel off and drop below into the rope locker, but it kept jamming. There is a part called a fleming or stripper that helps peel the line off the gypsy. I could see it was broken and the fleming itself was trying to go around with the gypsy. Fortunately this windlass has a drum that can be used to haul in line. There is a clutch that releases the gypsy. I shifted the line to the drum and released the clutch. Now I hauled in as much as I could, about 10-15 feet, and the stern anchor was set.
.
I did not go ashore at all and stayed aboard keeping anchor watch. Everything stayed put, but there was only light winds, not much stress on the anchors.
.
The next day I went ashore very uncomfortable, sweaty, dirty, and took a shower to wash off the debris from anchoring. I went online to slspares.com, a UK company that sells parts for obsolete Simpson Lawrence products. There I found the fleming available for a reasonable price, but shipping was more than the part. I googled the part number and found one on eBay for $22 including shipping and ordered it.
.
The image is from the UK website and is the fleming for the windlass.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups