Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
23 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
23 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

D4 Launchie

The laptop pooped the bed, so I have to scurry around with alternatives. Not as bad as typing on the phone.

17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

Gemini Bust

17 May 2020 | St Marys, GA
Capn Andy | Perfect Weather
I thought I was finished with the wind turbine. It was producing about 6 volts at max and I thought there must be something wrong. I decided to take it down and check it out. When I took it down I remembered to spin the shaft with a drill. That was the test I did on the workbench before putting it up with the blades. This time it produced plenty of voltage, about 30 volts. I guess we just need more wind. When I had installed the blades I used little 1 degree wedges to increase the angle of attack of the blades. In the installation instructions it said increasing the angle of attack will enable the turbine to start spinning in less wind, but might detract from its top speed. I now took those wedges out. Now let’s wait for more wind.
.
The rumor was that someone had complained on Facebook that boats in the North River Marsh were dumping raw sewage into the river. This is probably true and it is also probably true that the water (sewage) treatment plant located upstream adds a lot more to the river. Today a Department of Natural Resources boat was seen making the rounds, stopping at every anchored or moored boat. Probably issuing citations and fines. In my view, if a community doesn’t offer pump out services, then it probably isn’t justified in requiring boats to use holding tanks. What about when the tanks are full.
.
We took a little trip down to St. Augustine to look at a Gemini 31 catamaran that was listed on craigslist for $9,500. This boat has a brand new Mercury 60 hp four stroke outboard that is probably worth the asking price on its own. It was a nice day to get out of the boatyard and travel down I-95 into Florida, even with Florida’s checkpoint screening all the traffic coming South.
.
When we got to the boatyard in St. Augustine after about 1 1/2 hours of driving, the seller said the boat had just been sold. I guess it was a good deal and the new owners lucked out while we didn’t. These things happen.
.
Steamfitter Bill was somewhere in St. Augustine and I had talked to him on cell phone when bringing the Gulfstar 44 up from Ft. Lauderdale. Now I called him and we arranged to meet for lunch. There were 3 food trucks in his little marina and he had some beer. There was a nice gazebo with the breeze blowing through it. I treated Ron the carpenter who had driven me down and Bill to lunch from a food truck featuring Italian food. It was called pizza cone with various toppings in cone shaped pizza crust. We had chicken alfredo in a couple of the cones and meatballs and meat sauce in another. Tasty. We had a nice afternoon and got caught up on news.
.
So, the week started with the Chinese outboard motor failing, then Pizza Night having a bad night, then the wind turbine failing, and now a boat purchasing trip failing. Failure. Perhaps next week will come about with some success to make up for this. Tomorrow is Pizza Night. The image is of the Gemini 31 from the internet.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups