Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
17 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
11 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
04 October 2023 | Alice B. Tawes, McReady Pavilion, Crisfield, Maryland Eastern Shore
03 October 2023 | Alice B. Tawes, McReady Pavilion, Crisfield, Maryland Eastern Shore
Recent Blog Posts
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Inside Seams

Day two of the dinghy build started out with me finishing wiring the hull bottoms together on the centerline of the bottom panels. This was much easier than the wiring of the chine edges of the bottom panels and the side panels.

15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Day One

A Wharram Pahi 26 had been anchored in the river nearby the boatyard and was hauled out with the travel lift. I went around to look at it and talked to the owner couple. I was surprised that it had been built in Martinique in 1988. The boat is more than 30 years old.

11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Redux

The inflatable (deflatable) dinghy I had bought was deteriorating. It had bottom seams separating. It is a West Marine branded dinghy made out of PVC. HH66 is the adhesive to reattach the seams. A friend had a similar problem and bought the same adhesive. I was waiting to hear from him how it worked [...]

06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

The Clincher

We decided to go to Amelia Island for the day, probably to the beach. Our plan to cycle around on the Raleigh 20’s seemed like a bad idea, Bleu can’t keep up with a bicycle for very long and when he quits he quits. So we would walk, where?, Fort Clinch State Park. She has a forever pass for Florida [...]

Galaxy S8

20 January 2021 | St Marys, GA
Cap'n Andy | wi
While waiting for my new old computer to arrive, another Panasonic CF-C1, I continued working with my shattered screen CF-C1 and it dawned on my, how hard can it be to swap the good screen from the CF-C1 that types funny to this shattered screen CF-C1 that types just fine? I watched a Bob Johnson video on YouTube and it didn’t look hard at all. I swapped the screens. He cautions on the video to be careful with the bezel, it is delicate. Of course I demolished one of the bezels, but I used the remaining good one to finish the job.
.
Working closely with the laptop I could see grime. I got out my stash of baby wipes and cleaned the laptop. It still looks like an old beat up laptop, but the smudges are gone.
.
The website that had all the amusing post office anecdotes has more, all kinds of odd stories.
.
https://notalwaysright.com/
.
My replacement phone finally made it out of District Heights, MD, and I should have it soon. The accessory kit is still in City of Industry, CA.
.
I noticed laptops with locked BIOS are much cheaper than the others so I ordered a good looking CF-C1 with locked BIOS for $62. I will blog about how to unlock BIOS password after I do it, or at least report failure.
.
It’s Pizza Night again and I will make 2 pies with jalapeno brats and medium salsa.
.
Pizza Night ended and all the pizzas were well received. Radio Bill and I have, again, 6 slices each for breakfast, lunch, and more. It was a nice night but winter is coming in. Chilly.
.
There seems to be something hanging in the air. An aftermath of the recent political events. The tension caused by the assault on the capitol. Some are smug, serves ‘em right, some are apalled, how can they, the divide. The divide cuts right through all of us, all of us have some sort of divide in how we look at others. North, South, Rich, Poor, Young, Elderly, Urban, Rural, Educated, and the dumbies. I don’t agree with all this. I think each minority should be able to retain their identity. The nation should be a nation of individuals, not competing camps. We need to recognize our differences and celebrate them.
.
The cruising and boating community should be exceptionaly sensitive to what is going on. We are homeless, if we don’t own a home and live on a boat, we are subject to all sorts of negative attention, homeless, no physical address, how low can you go. Sea Gypsies.
.
I have long thought that our legislatures should address the issue of itinerant citizens. RV people, boat people, people living on houseboats, and even campers in the wilderness. Give our own nomads the right to vote and accommodate them into our culture. American Nomads. A growing large constituency.
.
The political climate seems to be on edge, ready to explode, but perhaps it will calm down with a new administration.
.
The new phone came in and I inserted the SIM card and the micro SD card that had the previous phone’s backup data. It took a while to enter the SIM card number and the phone’s registration number. After a quick charge I was able to mobile deposit the stimulus check that had been waiting. The camera is much better than the previous phone and I went around testing it out on some of the local scenery. It took a while to learn the changes in the android system, this phone is 3 generations newer.
.
My other little project was creating a bootable USB drive so I could hack the BIOS password on CF-C1 #3 which will arrive in about a week. I was unable to create a bootable drive to crack the BIOS password, but to test my method I created a bootable USB drive with Navigatrix on it and it booted up. Perhaps I won’t need to crack the BIOS password. Perhaps I will have to try all over again.
.
The image was taken on the North side of the boatyard with the new phone.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups