Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
23 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
23 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

D4 Launchie

The laptop pooped the bed, so I have to scurry around with alternatives. Not as bad as typing on the phone.

17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

Clouds and Change

18 March 2021 | St Marys
Cap'n Chef Andy
The America’s Cup racing in New Zealand went sour for the Italians in races 7 and 8. Up till then they were tied up 3-3, in race 7 Jimmy Spithill and the Italians won the start and worked the race very well. The Kiwis have a fast boat and managed to eke out a lead, then downwind won the race, but it was a close one. In race 8 it was do or die for the Italians and they sailed an inspired technical race, getting ahead and punishing the Kiwis with bad wind, tacking on them, controlling them around the racecourse, until near the end of the next to last leg. At that time the Kiwis came back toward the center of the course on starboard tack, having right of way, while Francesco Bruni and Spithill were on port and it looked like they should tack on top of the Kiwis, but they didn’t. Nathan Outerridge was one of the commentators and was surprised. There was emphasis by the commentators that “The Italians chose this”. I can see what was going on in their minds, don’t tack on them, we can reach the mark by going to the layline and take just one more tack. It didn’t work out, there was a significant wind shift that favored the Kiwis just when they needed it. Kismet or home waters. They quickly made the mark, downwind they crossed the finish line, they were now up 6-3, one more win and the cup was theirs.
.
It was time for another Pizza Night. I had always opted for Monday night because that’s when the restaurants are closed, but Tuesday is also the night that the gas station restaurant, up around the corner, is also closed, so we will have a Tuesday Pizza Night.
.
Last week I did Pizza Night on a Wednesday and got my second coronavirus vaccine shot the next day. I was in bad shape the next few days due to effects of the vaccine. Radio Bill helped me with moving some of the heavier objects, pizza oven and propane tank.
.
This time I figured to make it later by the clock, but right around the actual sidereal time. I did feel the effects of sore hip, etc, while doing this, and I tried to do as much as possible sitting, prepping toppings, and fired up the oven at around 5:30. I had mozzarella, mushrooms, a stick of pepperoni, and a medium onion.
.
After a rest I made the first pizza, a mushroom pie with garlic and onions. Then I prepared a pepperoni pie with onions and set it aside. The mushroom pie went into the oven. I next made a pie with onions, mushrooms, pepperoni, some garlic, and took it to the oven. The first pie came out looking well baked, 2nd went in.
.
So far no customers, and I needed space as the pies came out of the oven, in other words I needed someone to eat some of these pies. My usual protocol is to eat one slice from each pie. Radio Bill showed up with his usual appetite, It was a pleasant late afternoon and I took a photo of the clouds.
.
Rough Rider Lynn and Helicopter Dave showed up and there was plenty of pizza for all. 5 slices left over.
.
The next day I cleaned up the mess and made a big pot of Cream of Chicken and Mushroom Soup, same recipe as a week or so ago. When the soup was ready customers showed up to sample it, yet I ended up with 4 pint containers of it. Into the fridge. Rosie, the mother of the artist, said it was absolutely good.
.
The next day I made a marinade of yogurt, dill, and lemon, and marinated boneless skinless chicken thighs in it. A tornado warning was issued and I battened down the hatches. Everything had to be put away out of harms way.
.
The photo is of the clouds during Pizza Night.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups