Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
23 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
23 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

D4 Launchie

The laptop pooped the bed, so I have to scurry around with alternatives. Not as bad as typing on the phone.

17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

Rainy Days and Mondays

16 August 2021 | Crisfield, MD
Cap'n Chef Andy | Brie Rain
The two high power wifi adapters that came in are: LJ-6206 2000mW and SL-3504N 3000mW. Neither could capture the desired wifi signal from the Red Shell Shanty to the boat, about 240 yards. USB cables were tested and adapters were tested right outside the shanty and they showed a proper amplified signal. Perhaps there is something blocking the signal path, some large metal object. Later I walked around with the laptop and the SL-3504N, the highest powered adapter. The signal seemed to drop off rather quickly and it looked like 100 yards was at the limit. Oh, well, internet with the laptop will be at the shanty under its tent. The bistro is only open from 4-10 pm on Fridays and Saturdays, but the wifi seems to always be on.
.
WALSTIB
.
I was given a bag full of food from Eve, the artist, but it was not food that I particularly wanted. I texted her thanks, I’ll treat you to Taco Tuesday. She responded that she had to run some errands in Salisbury and did I want to go. I needed a shower, but said yes if you’ll have me in your vehicle. I went to the Red Shell Shanty, closed of course on a Monday, and got a new computer to log onto the wifi there. She drove up and I got in. Off we went.
.
Salisbury is a bit of a drive from Crisfield. On the way I pointed out to her the memorial to Cornelia Marie’s deceased partner. That is where he died I said. It looked like some weeds or vines were overgrowing the memorial.
.
I needed to get a project panel, thin, to cut up for backing to mount my prints from finerworks.com, which are due to come in the next day. I also needed more pens, and not from the Dollar Store, those pens all dried up right away. I asked her about mounting canvas on wood and she said I needed a spray on adhesive, so we went to Michael’s, an arts and crafts supply store. We spent a lot of time in there looking at picture frames and I ended up buying some Sharpie fine point pens there and a can of adhesive spray that Eve had found. She also had a discount cart that got me maybe 20 percent off.
.
I had been feeling light headed ever since I started my new blood pressure medicine and I felt I might do something stupid unless I could concentrate. We went to Home Depot where I could only find the project panel by googling it on the phone in the store. She had bought some paint for her house and we went to pick it up after it had been mixed. She showed me the colors, puke I said.
.
She said she had to go to Sam’s Club to pick up lemons or cookies for her sister who was having a health crisis, but she blew that off, we were going to Tall Tales, a brewery, for lunch. On the way we stopped at a wonderful landscaping store, How Sweet It Is. Remarkable. Photo op.
.
Peckish, light headed, lunch, we went to Tall Tales and could sit down with the dog at an outside table with a big umbrella. We were far away from everyone else. Although it is a microbrewery, I ordered an Orange Crush and Eve ordered a Grapefruit Crush. Tasted good on a hot humid afternoon. I ordered Carnitas Bowl and she ordered Black and Blue Pizza and I ordered another Orange Crush. I said I didn’t feel light headed anymore, joking.
.
The food came and more Crushes came and then the rain came. I lamented, I didn’t close the boat. She laughed. The rain poured. We and another couple were the only people out in the rain, at our tables, covered by umbrellas, the other couple had 3 dogs with them. One was a black lab. After the rain let up the dog owners got together and the dogs too.
.
We paid up and left. I had a lot of nice pictures of drooping flowers, soaked with rain. We were headed back to Crisfield. She said she needed to stop at the Food Lion for groceries, well that was one of my chores today, good. She had guests coming to her B&B and they had texted her and she was driving and we almost had an accident. Text them back, pass another not-almost accident with two police cars with flashing lights, head down 413 to Crisfield. Someone has to pass us on a double line while we are following a big rig that is not going too fast. She keeps a distance in front of her vehicle. She comments, I have to watch my speed. Why don’t you use cruise control? I get confused by her answer. Is it adaptive cruise control?, what is that. It’s like now, you back off to create some room to the vehicle in front of you and someone passes you on the double line to get in front of you. You back off again.
.
We did our shopping. Should she drop me off at the marina? What about your guests, I’m OK with going along with you and see if they have arrived. And it’s not that far to her B&B, yes the guests are there. I sit outside while she aquatints them with Crisfield, they are from Ohio. We have some spritzers, cold, welcome. Her friend Diana arrives with her dog, eager to play. The dogs are going at it, Eve goes inside to reheat pizza slices from lunch. It’s called Black and Blue pizza. She burnt it. Helping the dogs play resulted in my shoulder getting sore, throwing the ball, the instantly return, wanting another. I try a corner of a piece of pizza. Diana is forced to eat some. Flies land on the last piece, swarming over it. Diana puts a napkin over the fly swarmed pizza slice.
.
Conversation is getting thin. It is getting dark. Mosquitoes are sending their swarms in to finish us off. Incense sticks are lit and placed around to ward off the bugs, but it kinda works, the bugs are persistent. Eve wants Diana to drive me back to the marina. We all want to leave or get inside to get away from the bugs. I speak up, why does Diana have to drive me, you didn’t ask her. Bossy bossy pants.
.
So I get driven back to the marina. It is dark now. I have to procure my 6 digit code to get into the access gate. I assure her the exit gate will open for any vehicle. We go to my dock where I unload all my purchases into a dock cart. Then we part farewells back at the Shanty where my bike has patiently sat. Great day we both say.
.
This is what the guy who wants to live forever has to go through. Transient love that never amounts to anything, friendships that only last until bad things happen. I had a great day on a Monday, a rainy day, a day that will get you down, but it picked me up. Maybe it’s my new blood pressure medicine, but I feel like I have an atomic reactor churning inside me. I guess I have to thank my doctor.
.
The image is just one of many made on this trip.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups