Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
23 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
23 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

D4 Launchie

The laptop pooped the bed, so I have to scurry around with alternatives. Not as bad as typing on the phone.

17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

20 Years ago Today

09 September 2021 | Somers Cove, Crisfield, MD
Cap'n Chef Andy | Thunderstorms
Labor day is not a day of labor, it's a day of rest for me, hopefully. My hard work of the day before did not produce agonizing aches and pains, I felt fine. I thought about the events of this entire week. Some people were masking up, many were not. Crowds of people for the Hard Shell Crab festivities were mingling, not social distancing. A large concert at the Elks lounge probably had all the earmarks of a superspreader event, as well as the events in the marina, downtown Crisfield, and the City Dock. It will be interesting to see what transpires.
.
Thursday Sept. 9th will mark 20 years since Kaimu was launched in Norwalk, CT. The original builder, I was builder #3, has contacted me and has agreed to supply as much information about his build, design decisions, building materials, a build of a unique boat. Not according to Wharram's catamaran plans at all. I'm looking forward to his input.
.
I borrowed tools from Cornelia Marie who returned to Baltimore after a wonderful week of fine weather, birthday party, it seemed everyone had a good time. The tools were meant to allow me to work in the continued fine weather, continue the momentum of our strenuous tree planting in her yard. I worked on a picture frame with her sander and the spring things that hold the sandpaper had broken. One was already broken and I was able to change sandpaper by using a Swiss Army tool to release the broken spring. Now both springs were broken. I found I could change the paper with a knife to release the springs and set them again with my thumb. The frame was sanded down to bare wood with coarse, then sanded again with 150 grit, then 220. I stained it with golden oak minwax stain, allowed to dry, finished with minwax tung oil finish, which isn't tung oil, but maybe better.
.

I plan to mount one of my printed photos, 12X18, in the frame. It is a photo of the sunset at Somers Cove with a double ender sailboat in the shot. Beautiful picture. I ran into the owner of the boat at the Shanty and told him about the photo and I will give it to him when I am finished framing it.
.
The next day I mounted the print in the frame and secured it with little dabs of gorilla glue. I had no desire to go on to another project, the winds are from the South bringing heat and humidity. The forecast for the weekend looks great, again, perfect weather. Right now not so perfect.
.
The hype about Week 1 of the NFL seems to be centered on the Jets/Panthers game on Sunday, but it looks like it won't be on air, cable, or anything else, it is the debut of Zach Wilson, the Jets new QB, and the revenge game of QB Sam Darnold and WR Robbie Anderson, both who were traded away by the Jets. The Jets traded to the NFC side of the league, not to their AFC conference so that they wouldn't be subjected to competition, but as is usual with the Jets, they will be up against them in the very first game of the season.
.
My project of framing art prints fizzled out when my can of spray adhesive went dry. I ordered another can online for about half the price at Michael's, about $17. After 5 days I queried the seller due to no shipping information on the sale on eBay. The reply was that it is back ordered and would be for some time. I canceled the order and reordered from another seller. What if I hadn't contacted the back ordered seller, would I be waiting and waiting. The can of adhesive should be here in about 4 days.
.
My Sharpie fine point pens were drying up. The first batch dried up but I thought they might not be legit Sharpie's, they were from the dollar store. The second batch from Michael's is also drying up. I had another pen I liked, googled it, ordered from eBay, 3 black and 3 blue, ten bucks. I know these pens won't dry up.
.
As the NFL rolls out this weekend, SailGP will also stage another regatta. I didn't get to review much of last month's sailing due to internet outage, but now it's working fine. The sailing event will be in France at Saint-Tropez.
.
CM's mom asked if I could help her with a new flat screen TV for the upstairs. When I called her there was no answer, then I got a text from Eve, the artist. Having friends over for steaks, wanna come?, of course I reply, did you invite Cuddily? Of course, she's taking a nap.
.
I had to run a couple of errands and after returning from the grocers I saw an ominous cloud coming from the Southwest. Can I come over early? Yes. I brought a liter of merlot with me and arrived before the storm did. Eve was there with her cousin and preparations were underway for another magnificent dinner. Grilled steaks, thick tomato slices with mozzarella drizzled with balsamic vinegar, thick eggplant slices, salted to extract the bitterness and with mozzarella slices on top, pico de gallo, guacamole, and several kinds of wine.
.
Cuddily arrived with more wine. Diana arrived with more wine. Eve's sister arrived, not sure if she had wine, but she was the big winner in the crab racing last weekend, took 1st place. Out came jalapenos stuffed with a cheese concoction, very tasty.
.
I like to tease Eve about her looks or anything else. She is attractive, good chef, great artist, and a mark for some jabs from me. "I'm sorry about the other night, but the woman is not supposed to propose to the man.", I said. Ho boy. What do you mean, did you propose to Cuddily? Don't you remember Eve, your eyes are so attractive, blue, and your hair is so marvelous. She knows I'm trolling her. It all goes wrong later when I knock over a glass of wine onto her plate and onto her.
.
I felt ridiculously inept, it does happen to me now and then, I klutz out. I become the butt of jokes. I am the only male at the table, even the dogs are female. Go ahead, I deserve it. At the end of the dinner maybe I am not as damned as I felt before, during the dinner. It was another great dinner by a great hostess, no one declines to come to her house for something like this, even if there is a court jester present.
.
The image was taken by Galaxy phone at Eve's studio, some of the art is temporarily set aside from the Corbin Gallery while they renovate, it will be on display there again soon.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups