Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
23 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA
07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA
21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
Recent Blog Posts
23 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

D4 Launchie

The laptop pooped the bed, so I have to scurry around with alternatives. Not as bad as typing on the phone.

17 April 2024 | St Marys, GA

Dinghy Skeg

I was suffering with what seemed like a cold and also had allergy symptoms. I awoke and felt fine. The green pollen that was coating everything was gone. Maybe it will return.

07 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Clammy Hands

Items came in from TEMU, the Chinese cut rate retailer. One was a nice little drone that cost about twelve and a half dollars. It looked like an easy thing to play with while I coughed and sneezed. I was fighting a summer cold, even though it is not summer elsewhere, it seems like it here. A nice [...]

02 April 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Sun Doggie

After laminating the cedar strips onto the gunwales of the dinghy I found the screws I used wouldn’t come out. The epoxy had seized them. The screw heads were stripped so I cut a straight slot in the heads with the cut off wheel. The cedar smoked when the screw heads got red hot. I could remove [...]

21 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Just Add Water

The rainy weekend started off with overcast and fog but no rain. It looked like I might be able to get something done on the D4 dinghy. I wanted to change the bow seat which is really the bow deck. The sailing option uses the deck to hold the freestanding mast. I didn’t like how the deck looked, [...]

01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

Legionaire Disease

12 September 2021 | Somers Cove, Crisfield, MD
Cap'n Chef Andy | Perfect Weather
The question was what are the pens I ordered to replace the Sharpie's that kept drying out. Pilot Precise V7 rolling ball. I like the Sharpie pens too, but for some reason they dry out too soon.
.
Jack von Ommen, the octogenarian circumnavigator, is at it again, returning to Annapolis from the Pacific Northwest via air and immediately gets underway the next morning for Cape Charles, I presume. He has a presence on YouTube at: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCLCQ2Vs114grM1WdnlNo8WQ/featured
.
He is 84 years old. In his blog he thought when he returned to Annapolis that he might have to strip naked, swim out to his boat, "Fleetwood", of course it's wooden, blow up his dinghy, row back, and get his belongings. Fortunately he was able to get ferried to his boat.
.
It was an overcast rainy day with enough gaps in the rain to bike to the store for a gallon of water. I spent the day on YouTube mainly. I had a ham and cheese sandwich on what Food Lion calls a French roll, more like an overly large hot dog bun. Malcolm, my friend from Texas, was walking the docks, taking meter readings I guess, and I was trying to get a good shot of part of the sunset, which I had already missed most of. I walked with him to the end of the dock and took a photo with the EOS camera, and on the way back asked him to wait so I could show him something. I showed him the newly framed sunset picture with Vernon's boat in it. We were standing virtually on the spot where the photograph was taken. That looks like a painting, he felt the canvas, that's very nice. I told him I would give it to Vernon next time I saw him.
.
I went to the boater's lounge to watch the opening game of the NFL season, but there was US Open tennis action going on and the football game wouldn't start for a while. I watched a young 18 year old Leylah Fernandez playing against the #2 seed, a Russian lady whose mane is as complicated as my own. I switched back and forth between the NFL game and the tennis match. Fernandez had won the first set and lost the second. In the third she prevailed to win the match. It was a match filled with missed serves and unforced errors, but the competition between the two players was intense. I think when Fernandez gets her serve under control, she is very young, she will be an imposing player. In the football game Tom Brady, 44 year old QB, threw 3 touchdown passes in the first half against the Dallas Cowboys, but the game is close, I decided not to stay up and watch the entire game. The highlight video on YouTube will have all I need to watch.
.
While I was watching sports, Malcolm came to the boater's lounge with a muffin baked by his wife. I was famished with only an elongated hot dog bun ham and cheese sandwich under my belt. After I ate it I returned to Sunsplash. There I found the NFL.com site had live video of the game. It went right down to the wire with the Buccaneers winning with a last second field goal. It looks like the Cowboys are going to win the NFC East, the other teams do not have this caliber of play.
.
The next day I did laundry and contemplated going to the Red Shell Shanty for food and drink afterwards. I texted Eve who replied they're closed for the season. What a shock. Last year they stayed open much later. We decided to try the American Legion, whose chef, Mitchell, is very good, plus he is having another grilled tuna night. I texted Cuddily and Cornelia Marie. I asked if the Bad Crowd would show up, maybe Eve replied.
.
I biked to Eve's house and rode with her to the Legion. CM was at her mom's and they joined us outside. Such a beautiful day. We ordered 4 tuna dinners and Mitchell asked how we wanted them grilled. I had orange crushes, but they weren't very well made. Effective though. The ladies had wine, CM had a rum and coke. A couple ladies nearby came over to chat. Enjoyable evening, sun preparing to set, we all took pictures of the spectacle.
.
Cuddily's plumber was at the Legion and I brought him over, expecting him to entertain us, but no, he was belligerent, big mistake. Eve left to take care of her dog at home. She texted us a picture of a bonfire she had started. Cuddily was done for the night and went to her waterfront home. CM and I went to Eve's house where I was enlisted to bring a huge log to the fire. Pyromaniacs.
.
The next day I returned to borrow a can of spray adhesive from Eve. She was mowing the lawn and the log was still burning in her fire pit. I had ordered spray adhesive from eBay 3 times and each time it was on back order. The sellers take your money and don't tell you it's back ordered, after a few days you inquire, find out, cancel order, reorder from another seller. I did this 3 times. I only needed to mount 1 1/2 art prints. I originally made my first order on eBay on the 3rd. It's now 9/11. I mounted the prints and returned the borrowed can. It's a beautiful day and so will be the rest of the weekend.
.
We ended up at Cuddily's the next evening for slow cooked pork tenderloin. I got to help with prepping salad ingredients. I remarked that I was sore from lugging logs at the bonfire. Cuddily said she felt weak and achy, but she had been dealing with a health issue previously.
.
The next day I was very achy and feeling bad, not that bad, but bad enough to not do much outside. I found out that the recent festivities in town caused a spike in coronavirus. I spent the day laying low, watching some football.
.
The image is taken off the deck at the Legion Hall, what a beautiful vista.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups