Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
17 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
11 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
04 October 2023 | Alice B. Tawes, McReady Pavilion, Crisfield, Maryland Eastern Shore
03 October 2023 | Alice B. Tawes, McReady Pavilion, Crisfield, Maryland Eastern Shore
03 October 2023 | Alice B. Tawes, McReady Pavilion, Crisfield, Maryland Eastern Shore
Recent Blog Posts
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Inside Seams

Day two of the dinghy build started out with me finishing wiring the hull bottoms together on the centerline of the bottom panels. This was much easier than the wiring of the chine edges of the bottom panels and the side panels.

15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Day One

A Wharram Pahi 26 had been anchored in the river nearby the boatyard and was hauled out with the travel lift. I went around to look at it and talked to the owner couple. I was surprised that it had been built in Martinique in 1988. The boat is more than 30 years old.

11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Redux

The inflatable (deflatable) dinghy I had bought was deteriorating. It had bottom seams separating. It is a West Marine branded dinghy made out of PVC. HH66 is the adhesive to reattach the seams. A friend had a similar problem and bought the same adhesive. I was waiting to hear from him how it worked [...]

06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

The Clincher

We decided to go to Amelia Island for the day, probably to the beach. Our plan to cycle around on the Raleigh 20’s seemed like a bad idea, Bleu can’t keep up with a bicycle for very long and when he quits he quits. So we would walk, where?, Fort Clinch State Park. She has a forever pass for Florida [...]

26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Zen and Bike Maintenance

Eloisa rolled into the boatyard after a long drive down from the mountains. It was getting cold and isolated up there. I had a nasty toothache and we went to Southern River Walk. Bleu, her black American cocker was showing a bit of plumpness. I had had a sandwich and some wine already, so I didn’t [...]

Chowder Chat

20 September 2021 | Somers Cove, Crisfield, MD
Cap'n Chef Andy | Perfect Weather
When I cut the water heater in half I had made a miscalculation. Cutting it on the “equator” would have been about 25% less cutting, and maybe easier path to cut.
.
I attribute my health problems this past week or so to maybe some bug that affected Cuddily and then me, similar, but my symptoms continued and were not consistent. I had a stiff neck one morning, TMJ another morning, feeling blahs on a few days, but not so much on consecutive days, calf cramps at odd hours. Cornelia Marie said she thought I had covid. Mask up. Well, I am masked.
.
Going to the wine store requires a mask, the grocer doesn’t. I carry a mask on my left wrist. I ran errands on the bicycle and felt OK afterwards. Cuddily texted me that she had trouble sleeping. Just read my blog. Ha ha. I was hungry and not too keen on making another ham and cheese grilled sandwich or a tuna salad sandwich with extra black pepper. I was going over into her territory to the American Legion for food and drink.
.
I was over there in just a few minutes although I rode the bike down to the town dock, made a gesture at will.i.am, a fellow from the ‘hood, no reply, cycled up the main drag and made the left turn at the road to the library crossing 4 lanes of traffic, cycling easily, take it easy. Down to the sharp right turn to the straight along the small boat harbor, there is a park with tables and such on the way, someone shouted to me, but I just waved as I went by. By the slips of the small boat harbor, along the roads that lead to the American Legion, the best restaurant in town, I looked for Eve’s big SUV, there was one like it, but it was not hers. I rode over the lawn to the back, stowed the bike against the outdoor deck. Came up and went inside with my covid mask on. No one else was wearing one. I ordered an orange crush and started a tab, took it out to the deck.
.
There was a circular table that I had sat at a while ago. For some reason I sat at a larger table, black enameled iron, maybe one of the seats was one that Cornelia Marie straightened out for me not too long ago. I took a picture of the orange crush and sent it to Cuddily. It is an infallible cue. She replied she would walk over.
.
Bikers arrived on Harley’s. They came in and looked at me while they moved on a bit and took another large table. The orange crush was substandard, not fresh squeezed orange, no orange slice at the rim, but probably a good amount of alcohol to prevent any complaints. I drank a few gulps. A large bug crawled along the deck’s rail headed East. I eventually identified it as a wheel bug. Cuddily showed up, she seemed nervous. She wanted to talk about things she was wrestling with. She had had little sleep until she took some pain medication and a couple shots of whiskey in the wee hours of the morning.
.
She was kind of breaking up with her longtime boyfriend Buster. She had sent him away when he irritated her a while ago. But she also had to talk about her daughter, Cornelia Marie. There was loud music playing and a nearby table was very loud. With my aged hearing I struggled to listen. We talked about Nori the wonder dog. I think I could talk to Cuddily forever. She is that good. The large table got filled up with others of the Bad Crowd. Eve and Diana. Teri, who recently lost her husband, and I ascertained how to spell her name, she didn’t like to waste typed letters, although I have wasted a lot here just relating it. Enjoyable.
.
Food arrived for me and Cuddily. A quesadilla. I had TMJ in my left jaw, so I didn’t eat so fast. A lady showed up, maybe her name was Betty, she was cultured and pleasant, went back to her running car to get her dog and join us, I brought her a chair, such a gentleman, no way I said.
.
The table was full and I was the only male, including any dogs present. There was no NFL talk, but some technical stuff, but I was left out. C’mon girls, you have an entrenched trained techie here. Other topics included getting Eve’s young Labrador retriever pregnant, tax adjustments if you are under the income limit and over the age limit.
.
The next day was almost the same, but it was just me and Cuddily, and then CM came over without Nori, the wonder dog. It was BBQ Chicken night, so we ordered 3 meals of bbq chicken, baked beans, and house cole slaw. We gave up on the orange crushes, here they use concentrate, effective, but bad. Wine, box quality, and flies to land on your baked beans, or chicken, or cole slaw, some even got into a wine glass. Gross.
.
The next morning I was feeling fine. Eve said she needed to replace a step on her back stairs. I went over with the bicycle without any tools. We figured out she needed lag screws and went to the hardware store, only open for another half hour. Then we went to the wine store and got a bottle of tequila. Back at her place we worked like dogs on the back steps. I was soaked with sweat and stepped in some dog poop going back and forth to her basement for tools. Smelly.
.
We removed a metal flange that held the metal banister and removed the dilapidated 2X4 that was to be replaced. During this work I nicked the back of my hand and blood began to flow. It looked impressive, blood, sweat, and tears. She got me an ice cold drink that did have some alcohol in it. Soon we had subdued the steps and went inside. Time to prep some jalapenos to infuse the tequila. Eve prepared a chicken to simmer in the oven with a thousand spices. At the last minute I added cloves of garlic that had been peeled and smashed. We had consumed a couple of shots of tequila to make room for the jalapenos in the bottle.
.
We went to the dog breeder’s where her bitch was getting mated. Black labs, beautiful dogs. I explained to her on the ride over that she and I represented a critical mass, that when we were together there would be excess of alcohol, neither of us could put the brakes on. She understood, it’s always that way with me she said.
.
I returned to the marina to shower off the debris. I would be on my way to Cuddily’s house where the chicken concoction and infused tequila would be dished up. I rode down to the city dock and then up the main drag again, to the small boat harbor, to the waterfront houses, and came in the back door again. She offered me wine while she worked on some salad ingredients. I prepped the cucumber and a red pepper. Later I buttered baguette slices with garlic butter and they went into an air fryer.
.
I showed her how to cook rice the French way, saute the rice in butter for a couple minutes, then throw boiling water onto the rice, the water coming from the microwave. She had a metal plate to simmer the rice properly and I set a timer for 20 minutes.
.
Eve had her jalapeno infused tequila and started mixing up jalapeno raspberry margaritas with one glass empty for Diana who responded she was on her way. The rice cooked, the chicken concoction was in the oven for a bit, the salad was ready. I carefully tossed it with salad tools.
.
We were asked to go out to the screened porch in back, not air conditioned, was it OK to eat there, we all agreed and began bringing stuff out to the round table on the porch. The salad was consumed first with a store bought vinaigrette dressing. Very good. Then we marched into the kitchen to get portions of the chicken and rice. What a great meal. When Eve cooks it always comes out great. I declined on the margaritas and had pinot noir. The margaritas were sharp strong, very jalapeno spicy. Too big a departure from the culinary trail I was experiencing.
.
We were overlooking the channel that the crab and fishing boats returned as the sun set lower and lower. What a great evening. I took no pictures, but I noticed how the light got better and better as the sun got lower and lower.
.
The next day I felt great, none of the aches the last few days. There had been talk of a fish chowder, Massachusetts style, and I contacted Cuddily about helping her prep some of the ingredients. Not now, later. Of course. I don’t know when this chowder dinner will be served, how long it needs to be cooked, just checking in, like any sous chef.
.
I had a reconnaissance bike ride to the town dock and back, just like almost any other day. Almost no cars, Sunday morning, town dead, really dead, no traffic on the intersections. I did some puzzles on the computer, then rode to the grocers to buy a jug of water. I felt good, riding within myself, slowly into the breeze, flashing by on the downwind leg.
.
I guess I called Cuddily at about 2:30, no reply, then a bit later a response, she napped. Let’s shoot for 5 or so. I was watching the NFL channel which had updates on all the Sunday games. Unfortunately my team, the NY Jets, laid a bomb. Not that we aren’t inured to it. It seemed like an empty day. Gotta ride my bike to work off some of the angst.
.
I arrived at Cuddily’s house and let myself in the back screen door, like before. It was 4 PM. She had the holy trinity of culinary lore, carrots, onion, and celery. I volunteered to prep them. She was making Irish soda bread and put that into the oven. The island counter had flour all over it, so I helped her clear it off. She did more, complaining that the granite needed a special cleaner that she was out of. I worked my way through the veggies and she put them in individual containers, just like in the TV shows. That’s how they do it, they have everything prepared beforehand.
.
5 o’clock rolled around and I was allowed to get some pinot noir. I sang a song, me muther me muther was Irish, me father, me father was Irish, I’m Irish stew. I also sang the Alan Jackson rendition of, It’s 5 o’clock Somewhere. Cuddily had her internet play some Irish songs. She also was timing the cooking of dishes with the Siri app.
.
I thought the previous night Eve had organized this dinner and it would be just me, Cuddily, and Eve, but there was no response to my texts, nor to Cuddily’s.
.
Finally we heard, Eve and Karen were buying dirt up in Pocomoke City, 20 bags worth. Well, I said, Karen is very robust, Eve is no slouch, it will just take them 10 minutes to deal with those bags of dirt. Cuddily turned the heat down and put the fish into the chowder. What a mistake I thought, we might be waiting a long time for Eve and Karen.
.
Eve showed up right on time, She taunted me with her beautiful blue eyes, they are really remarkable. Karen came along later. I was starving, can’t we just eat, but the girls were just getting started, I would have to wait. Love them. We ended up on the back enclosed porch overlooking the small boat harbor channel. Companionship, conversation, and chowder.
.
The image was taken with the Canon EOS camera which I haven’t been using so much these days.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups