Kaimusailing

s/v Kaimu Wharram Catamaran

Vessel Name: Kaimu
Vessel Make/Model: Wharram Custom
Hailing Port: Norwalk, CT
Crew: Andy and the Kaimu Crew
About: Sailors in the Baltimore, Annapolis, DC area.
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA
23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA
26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
14 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA
09 January 2024 | St Marys, GA
23 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
10 December 2023 | St Marys, GA
25 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | St. Marys, GA
17 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
03 November 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
26 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
17 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
11 October 2023 | Somers Cove Marina, Crisfield, MD
04 October 2023 | Alice B. Tawes, McReady Pavilion, Crisfield, Maryland Eastern Shore
03 October 2023 | Alice B. Tawes, McReady Pavilion, Crisfield, Maryland Eastern Shore
03 October 2023 | Alice B. Tawes, McReady Pavilion, Crisfield, Maryland Eastern Shore
Recent Blog Posts
01 March 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Alternative Seats

The rain event was more wind than rain, strong winds with gusts up to 44 mph. We drove into town to see what the harbor was like. There was a small sailboat that had dragged anchor and was sitting close to shore. The tide was out. We left and played with Bleu at Notter’s Pond.

23 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Inside Seams

Day two of the dinghy build started out with me finishing wiring the hull bottoms together on the centerline of the bottom panels. This was much easier than the wiring of the chine edges of the bottom panels and the side panels.

15 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Dinghy Day One

A Wharram Pahi 26 had been anchored in the river nearby the boatyard and was hauled out with the travel lift. I went around to look at it and talked to the owner couple. I was surprised that it had been built in Martinique in 1988. The boat is more than 30 years old.

11 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

D4 Redux

The inflatable (deflatable) dinghy I had bought was deteriorating. It had bottom seams separating. It is a West Marine branded dinghy made out of PVC. HH66 is the adhesive to reattach the seams. A friend had a similar problem and bought the same adhesive. I was waiting to hear from him how it worked [...]

06 February 2024 | St. Marys, GA

The Clincher

We decided to go to Amelia Island for the day, probably to the beach. Our plan to cycle around on the Raleigh 20’s seemed like a bad idea, Bleu can’t keep up with a bicycle for very long and when he quits he quits. So we would walk, where?, Fort Clinch State Park. She has a forever pass for Florida [...]

26 January 2024 | St. Marys, GA

Zen and Bike Maintenance

Eloisa rolled into the boatyard after a long drive down from the mountains. It was getting cold and isolated up there. I had a nasty toothache and we went to Southern River Walk. Bleu, her black American cocker was showing a bit of plumpness. I had had a sandwich and some wine already, so I didn’t [...]

Steak Night

25 September 2021 | Somers Cove, Crisfield, MD
Cap'n Chef Andy | beautiful weather
The storm that started with gale winds with no rain turned into a real storm overnight with copious rain and Sunsplash jumping around on her moorings. It felt like being at sea in a gale. Noisy. Instead of rocking me to sleep I was awakened and hanging on. I didn’t dare go out in the morning. Sheets of rain blasted the boat while the wind was howling in the rigging. When I finally went out we were floating on an extra high tide or coastal flooding that came up over the finger pier. I normally try to jump down onto the pier from the boat, but now we were too high up. I had to kneel on top of a piling and search for a foothold on the top of a metal ladder on the pier, then step down into the water that was covering the pier.
.
I had chores to do, go to the store, I’m out of water and bread and only have 2 eggs left. I had to do laundry. We end up wearing strange clothing when we get down to the bottom of clean clothes. I went out between raindrops and only got a little wet from the rain. The boat was smelling damp and musty.
.
After folding laundry I found that it was already 4 o’clock in the afternoon. The tidal water in the marina had dropped about 6 inches which enabled me to get on board a little easier. I became hungry and quickly made a ham and cheese sandwich with olive oil mayo and a glass of wine. After a while I noticed the light outside was getting horizontal from the sun, setting lower in the sky, It looked like a sunset was about to happen, so I rode the bike to the gates near the Tawes Museum, and only one gate was open. I rode down the street to the City Dock, almost no traffic. The sun was setting and I grabbed a few shots. After all our rain and gale winds, there was a rainbow that appeared in two segments, one over the downtown from my point of view, and another appeared above the crab facilities to the South of the City Dock. I took my time and snapped a few photos.
.
It was Thursday Night Football, and I know some of you don’t care, but I care, it’s the Panthers with my old Jets’ quarterback, Sam Darnold, against the Texans, a team that has a quarterback that is paid 10.5 million a year to sit on his ass, and then went on with a good second quarterback who turned up injured, out for weeks. The third string quarterback had to go into the game against the top defense in the league. He did well. At halftime the score was 7-6 for the Panthers.
.
The Panthers running back CMC, best in the league was out with a hamstring. Some would think that is about it, if they only got to 7-6 with CMC, what could they do now? Sam Darnold got two rushing touchdowns, one like a fullback into the pile. He threw for over 300 yards, continuing a trend this season, 3-0.
.
The next day I put batteries in the new fuel transfer pump from Harbor Freight and removed the fuel gauge sender from the fuel tank. The previous owner had said the gauge wasn’t working. The ground wire attached to the sender fell off. Maybe that’s why. With the opening for the sender just large enough to push the fuel transfer pump down into the tank I began filling gallon water bottles. The tank is rated at 21 gallons. I filled 21 gallon bottles. Now I had a problem, Somerset County does not accept Hazardous Household Waste, which is what old gasoline is.
.
I texted members of the Bad Crowd that the Legion was having Steak Night and I headed over there toward 5PM. Malcolm and Nancy from the trawler in the marina were there and he was nervous about getting his dinner in time so that he could return to the marina and begin his night security detail. They were sitting with a mayoral candidate who was talking local politics. The Legion was filling up with customers and we sat outside out of the wind. Cuddily arrived and I introduced her around the table. Cornelia Marie arrived with Nori the Wonder Dog. Eve and Karen arrived later. Malcolm and Nancy had to return to the marina with doggie bags. CM and I discussed buying one of Eve’s paintings to hang in CM’s house.
.
The image is a photo taken at the City Dock during a vivid sunset as the storm clouds dissipate.
Comments

About & Links

SailBlogs Groups